Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

US History: Exploring Demographic Groups in WWII America: Images

Images

It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator / owner of the image, be it a photographer, an artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution. Use the resources we provide below to find images you can freely use in your project. 

 

Please note: primary source documents and images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

 

If you aren't sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

 

 

Images and Videos

Images and videos created at the time of your topic can also be primary sources!

 

  • It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator OR owner of the image (an individual, group, or institution such as a museum.)
  • The resources below contain media you may freely use in your presentations.
  • PLEASE NOTE: primary sources including images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or other content that is considered offensive today.
 

 

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

ONLINE IMAGE DATABASES

 

FOR IMAGES
  1. To cite an image from these databases, choose Database.
  2. Choose the source type that most accurately describes your image, such as Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart.

Images in Online Databases

 

You may also use images in any of the databases on this course guide. 

REMEMBER IMAGES MUST BE CITED!
Need help? Just ask!
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett
OR email us at 
rpreviti@taftschool.org
  blovallo@taftschool.org
spadgett@taftschool.org  
We're here to help!

Find Images Using Google

Google Images 
On your image search results page:
  • Click on Tools.
  • Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
  • Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Look for this Creative Commons icon

Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

 

IMAGE WEBSITES

Digital Public Library of America (more than 37 million free-to-use images, texts, videos and  sounds held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Keyword search or explore Browse by Topic, Exhibitions, and Primary Source Sets in the top menu bar. Browse by time period within Primary Source Sets.)
Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog: Search by the subject/contents of the photograph/print and date for best results. If you start typing a date, a series of suggested dates and/or date ranges will pop up. If you need any help, please ask a Librarian!
National Archives World War II Photos (Use of these images is unrestricted.)
The New York Public Library Digital Images Collection (Be sure to check "Search only public domain materials" when you search this digital collection  881,097 prints, photographs, maps, and more.)
Wikimedia Commons (Wikimedia Commons is a free media repository of over 58 million freely usable items)