Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Exploring Groups: How did WWII change America?: Indigenous / Native Americans

Secondary Sources on Reserve on Indigenous / Native Americans in WWII

BOOKS ON RESERVE 

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. 

TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:

  1. Use the links above to identify which books you would like to borrow.
  2. Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.
  3. We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you.
  4. When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.

 

Click on the heading links General books and Indigenous / Native Americans for more information on each title.

General books containing information on Indigenous / Native Americans

  • Double victory: multicultural history of America in World War II / Ronald Takaki. D769 .T42  2 copies
  • Wartime America: The World War II home front / John W. Jeffries. D769 .J44 2018

Indigenous / Native Americans

  • American Indians and World War II : toward a new era in Indian affairs / Alison R. Bernstein. D810.I5 B47
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs / Donald Lee Fixico (an online ebook)
  • Crossing the pond : the Native American effort in World War II / Jere' Bishop Franco. D810.I5 F73 1999
  • The heartbeat of Wounded Knee: Native America from 1890 to the present / David Treuer. E77 .T797 2019 
  • A history of the Navajos : the reservation years / Garrick Bailey and Roberta Glenn Bailey. E99.N3 B177 1986
  • Indians in the War 1945 (a pamphlet from the Office of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior found on the website of the U.S. Navy Department Library) PS
  • Major problems in American Indian history / Ed. Albert Hurtado, Peter Iverson, William J. Bauer, Jr., and Stephen Kent Amerman. E77.2 .M35 2015 PS
  • Voices of the American Indian experience, vol. 2: 1878-present / ed. b James E. Seelye Jr. and Steven A. Littleton. E77 .V65 2013 v.2  PS
  • Why we serve: Native Americans in the United States armed forces /  Alexandra N. Harris and Mark G. Hirsch. E98 .M5 H37 2020
  • Winds of freedom : the story of the Navajo Code Talkers of World War II / Margaret T. Bixler. E99.N3 B59 1992 PS

PS = contains primary source materials

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities E-book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!