Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Exploring Groups: How did WWII change America?: Mexican Americans

 

Secondary Sources will have more specific information about Mexican Americans in WWII.

  • Secondary source books written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles (which are also secondary sources), and books.

 

RESERVE BOOKS

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project.

  • DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:

    • Books on reserve will be available to you in the Library Reading Room Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor.

    • Please return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room before you leave the library at the end of class..

  • OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 5 sections of US History.)


 

Click on the heading links General books and Mexican Americans for more information on each book.
 
General books containing information on Mexican Americans
  • An African American and Latinx History of the United States /Paul Ortiz. E184 .S75 O79 2018
  • Double Victory: Multicultural History of America in World War II / Ronald Takaki. D769 .T42  2 copies
  • Major Problems in the History of World War II / Ed. by Mark Stoler and Melanie S. Gustafson. D743 .M246 2003 Contains Primary Sources
  • Wartime America: the World War II Home Front / John W. Jeffries. D769 .J44 2018
Mexican Americans  (also known as Chicanos; the broader terms Hispanic Americans and Latinos may also be used, but be sure the source is referring to those of Mexican descent.)
  • Becoming Mexican American: Ethnicity, Culture and Identity in Chicano Los Angeles, 1900 - 1945 / George J. Sanchez (an online ebook)
  • Defining Moments : The Zoot Suit Riots / Kevin Hillstrom. F869.L89 M447 2012. (Also online)  Contains Primary Sources
  • From Coveralls to Zoot Suits : The Lives of Mexican American Women on the World War II Home Front / Elizabeth R. Escobedo. F869.L89 M5156 2013 Contains Primary Sources
  • Latino Americans : The 500-Year Legacy That Shaped a Nation / Ray Suarez. E184.S75 S83 2013 PS
  • Major Problems in Mexican American History : Documents and Essays / ed. Zaragosa Vargas. E184.M5 M354 1999 Contains Primary Sources
  • Mexican American Voices : A Documentary Reader / ed. Steven Mintz. E184.M5 M126 2009 Contains Primary Sources
  • Mexican Americans & World War II / ed. Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez. E184.M5 M513 2005
  • The Zoot-Suit Riots : The Psychology of Symbolic Annihilation / Mauricio Mazón. F869.L89. M56 1984 Contains Primary Sources
  • Zoot Suit Riots / Roger Bruns. F869.L89 M4223 2014 Contains Primary Sources

 

Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities E-book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!