Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Exploring Groups: How did WWII change America?: Black / African Americans

 

Secondary Sources will have more specific information about Black / African Americans in WWII.

  • Secondary source books written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles (which are also secondary sources), and books.

 

RESERVE BOOKS

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project.

  • DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:

    • Books on reserve will be available to you in the Library Reading Room Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor.

    • Please return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room before you leave the library at the end of class..

  • OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 5 sections of US History.)


 

Click on the headings General books and Black / African Americans for more information about each book.
 
General books containing information on Black / African Americans
  • Double Victory: Multicultural History of America in World War II / Ronald Takaki. D769 .T42  2 copies
  • The Homefront: America during World War II / Mark Jonathan Harris, Franklin D. Mitchell, Steven J. Schechter. E806 H64 1984  Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in American History, 1920-1945 / Ed. by Colin Gordon. E784 .M315 2011 Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in the History of American Workers / Ed. by Eileen Boris and Nelson Lichtenstein. HD8066 .M34 2003  Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in the History of World War II / Ed. by Mark Stoler and Melanie S. Gustafson. D743 .M246 2003 Contains Primary Sources
  • People's History of World War II / Ed. by Marc Favreau. D811 .A2 P46 2011  Contains Primary Sources
  • Wartime America: The World War II Home Front / John W. Jeffries. D769 .J44 2018

 

Black / African Americans in the WWII Era

  • A. Philip Randolph and the Struggle for Civil Rights / Cornelius L. Bynum. E185.97.R27 B97 2010
  • An African American and Latinx History of the United States /Paul Ortiz. E184 .S75 O79 2018 (this book is shelved with the GENERAL books.)
  • The African American Experience During World War II / Neil A. Wynn. D810.B53 W89 2010 Contains Primary Sources
  • The Color of Law : A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America / Richard Rothstein. E185.61 .R8185 2017
  • Fog of War: The Second World War and the Civil Rights Movement / Kevin Michael Kruse (an online ebook)
  • For Jobs and Freedom : Selected Speeches and Writings of A. Philip Randolph / edited by Andrew E. Kersten, David Lucander. E185.97 .R27 A25 2014 PS
  • The GI Bill : A New Deal for Veterans / Glenn C. Altschuler, Stuart M. Blumin. UB357 .A65 2009
  • The Great Migration North, 1910-1970 / Laurie Lanzen Harris. E185.6 .H27 2012  (Also online). Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in African-American History : Documents and Essays / edited by Thomas C. Holt, Elsa Barkley Brown. E185 .M35 2000 v.2  Contains Primary Sources
  • Marching Across the Color Line : A. Philip Randolph and Civil Rights in the World War II Era / David Welky. E185.97 .R27 W45 2014
  • Reporting Civil Rights /  E185.61 .R47 2003, v.1  Contains Primary Sources
  • The Warmth of Other Suns : The Epic Story of America's Great Migration / Isabel Wilkerson. E185.6 .W685 2010
  • A Working People: A history of African American Workers Since Emancipation / Steven A. Reich. HD8081 .A65 R45 2013

 

Black / African Americans in the Military

  • Black Americans in World War II / A. Russell Buchanan. D810.B53 B82 1977
  • Black faces of war: a legacy of honor from the American Revolution to today / Robert V. Morris. E185.63 .M67 2011
  • The Black soldier / Ed. by Jay David and Elaine Crane. E185.63 A3
  • Blood for dignity : the story of the first integrated combat unit in the U.S. Army / David P. Colley. D769.31 394th .C65 2003
  • Brothers in arms : the epic story of the 761st tank battalion, WWII's forgotten heroes / Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Anthony Walton. D769.306 761st .A24 2004
  • Desegregation of the U.S. Armed Forces : fighting on two fronts, 1939-1953 / Richard M. Dalfiume. E185.63 .D3
  • Fighting for America : Black soldiers-- the unsung heroes of World War II / Christopher Paul Moore. D810.B53 M66 2005  Contains Primary Sources
  • Forgotten : the untold story of D-Day's Black heroes, at home and at war / Linda Hervieux. D769.34 320th .H467 2015
  • Freedom flyers : the Tuskegee Airmen of World War II / J. Todd Moye. D790.252 332nd .M69 2010.
  • The Port Chicago 50 : disaster, mutiny, and the fight for civil rights / Steve Sheinkin. D810.B53 S44 2014
  • Taps for a Jim Crow army : letters from black soldiers in World War II / ed. Phillip McGuire. D810.B53 M38 1983  Contains Primary Sources
  • The Triple Nickles: America's First All-Black Paratroop Unit / Bradley Biggs. D769.345 .B53 1985
  • Tuskegee Airmen / Barry M. Stentiford (an online ebook)
  • We were there : voices of African American veterans from World War II to the war in Iraq / ed. Yvonne Latty. E185.63 .W4 2005 Contains Primary Sources

 

Black / African American Women

  • Bitter Fruit : African American Women in World War II / ed. Maureen Honey. D810.B53 B4 1999 PS
  • A Black Women's History of the United States / Daina Ramey Berry and Kali Nicole Gross. E185.86 .B475 2020
  • Labor of Love, Labor of Sorrow: Black Women, Work, and the Family From Slavery to the Present / Jacqueline Jones. HD6057.5 U5 J66 1985
  • Major Problems in American Women's History / Ed. by Mary Beth Norton and Ruth M. Alexander. HQ1410 .M34 2003
  • To Serve My Country, To Serve My Race : The Story of the Only African American WACS Stationed Overseas During World War II / Brenda L. Moore. UB418.A47 M66 1996
Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as {DATABASE NAME}.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!