Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Secondary Sources will have more specific information about your topic.
- Books and journal articles are examples of Secondary Sources.
- Secondary sources are written by scholars and present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
- Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
- Secondary sources generally have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles and books.
Library Catalog Search
RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.
- A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.
- When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.
BOOKS ON RESERVE
To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. Please click on the links below to see the list of books on reserve for each topic area.
TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:
- Use the links above to identify which books you would like to borrow.
- Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.
- We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you.
- When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.
Electronic Resource Catalog Search
eBook Only Search
Use this search to find only ebooks that can be accessed via our library catalog.
NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks
NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks and Journal Articles
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.
To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale in Context: U.S. History.
- Choose Book.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
- Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
- Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
- Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
- Choose Book.
- Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar.
- Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
- Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
- Choose Book.
- Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.
Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.
NoodleTools Tips for Citing Journal Articles
To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete or JSTOR.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
- Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.
- Print or In Hand = a journal found in the library's Reading Room.
Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.
Most likely you found your article in one of the online databases. For your citation you will enter:
- information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
- information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.