How Do I?: Access Digital Newspapers

The Library subscribes to the digital edition of The New York Times that you can access on any device or computer! 

Important note: Whenever possible, please use the option to Continue with Google using your Taft School address. 

Using your Taft email address, register for your free academic pass by clicking here: https://nytimes.com/passes.

NOTE: Once registered, you have unlimited access to all content on NYTimes.com for one year. You will need to renew your registration every 12 months to maintain access by clicking on https://nytimes.com/passes.

Please note: as part of the process, an email will be sent to your taftschool.org account.  You must click on a link in that email to activate/reactivate your account.

For more information on NYTimes.com passes, go to https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/articles/115015957688-NYTimes-com-passes.

We have online access to Waterbury’s daily newspaper, Republican-American.

Many Republican-American articles are freely available online at http://www.rep-am.com, but if you come to an article with the message "You Need to be Logged in and have an Active Subscription", you may email Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti from your Taft email address for The Taft Library account username and password.

NOTE: Because this is a community-wide account, please refrain from commenting on articles.

You can also access the Republican American (2004 to present) through the library database Access World News -- Historical and Current. Scroll down to the blue buttons at the bottom of the database homepage and click on Republican-American (Waterbury, CT)

Currently, The Wall Street Journal is not available digitally through the library, but it is fully accessible on the day of publication via these ProQuest databases:  ABI/INFORM Collection and U.S. Major Dailies.

To limit your search to WSJ, change the default search field from "Anywhere" to "Publication Title." To limit your search to the current day, select "On This Date" in the Publication Date field and enter the current date (month, day, year).

You can access the Wall Street Journal (1984-present) through the library subscription database U.S. Major Dailies which also provides full-text access to the following major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), and Washington Post (1987-present).

The Post offers a special Academic subscription rate to all active K-12 teachers and U.S. college students, faculty, and staff. This subscription provides unlimited digital access to washingtonpost.com on any device and unlimited access to all Washington Post apps.

For more information, and to subscribe, go to: https://helpcenter.washingtonpost.com/hc/en-us/articles/115002035092-Academic-Rate-for-the-All-Access-Digital-subscription.

You can access the Washington Post (1987-present) through the library subscription database U.S. Major Dailies which also provides full-text access to the following major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), and Wall Street Journal (1984-present).

Recent issues (2014-Present) can be accessed online at: https://papyrus.taftschool.org

The Papyrus archive (1894-2012) can be accessed by authenticated Taft users via the Academic Drive for The Papyrus
*Note: All issues are PDFs and searchable using Ctrl+F.

Mac Instructions:

1. With the Finder active, from the Go menu, click on Connect to Server...
2. In the Connect to Server window that opens, type in smb://fs2.taftschool.org/academic
3. Click Connect
4. In the authentication window that appears, enter your Taft network username and password. 
   username *ex. jsmith
5. Click Connect.
6. Select Academic Public Folder
7. Select Taft Papyrus Folder.

Windows 7/8/10 Instructions:

1. Do one of the following:
   1. Windows 7: Click Start. Right click on Computer and select Map Network Drive....
   2. Windows 8/10: On the Start screen, type the word computer. Right click on the Computer icon. Then click Map network drive.
   3. The Map Network Drive window will appear.
2. Use the drop-down menu to select the drive letter you will be using. You can choose any drive letter you like that isn't already in use.
3. In the Folder field, type in \\fs2.taftschool.orglacademic
4. Check off "Reconnect at logon" and "Connect using different credentials".
5. Click Finish.
6. When prompted for you network password, enter your Taft network username and password in the following format. 
   taftschool\username *ex. taftschool\jsmith
7. Click Ok.
8. Select Academic Public Folder
9. Select Taft Papyrus Folder.