Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

US History: Exploring Demographic Groups in WWII America: Women

SECONDARY SOURCE BOOKS / eBOOKS

These full-length books - also called Monographs - will have more specific information about your topic.
  • They are written by scholars and subject experts.
  • The author often presents a new interpretation of your topic based upon a synthesis of based on primary sources, secondary source books, journal articles, and other scholarly materials.
  • They contain a bibliography of sources or notes citing sources used.
  • Sometimes there's a whole book on your topic, and sometimes a chapter or section.

BOOKS ON RESERVE

  • To ensure equitable access, these books may be used IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
  • You may scan pages using your smartphone - Remember the title page and back of the title page! See the info box for Genius Scan below.
  • During class time, reserve books will be freely available on the book truck(s).
    • Books do not need to be signed out. 
    • You are on your honor to return all books before leaving the library at the end of class.
  • Outside of class time / after the class day, reserve books / book truck(s) will be behind the Circulation Desk
    • You may sign books out for use in the library only. 

Scan pages from books and other print sources 

including title page and back side of title page
and email the PDF to your Taft email
with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

 

CLICK HERE FOR BOOKS ON RESERVE ABOUT AMERICAN WOMEN IN WWII

NOTE: There is a special section of books on African American women with the books on African Americans.

 

eBooks about American Women in WWII
NOTE: To cite an ebook, choose Database and then Book.
 
THESE GENERAL BOOKS ALSO CONTAIN EXCELLENT INFORMATION ON WOMEN 
  • Double Victory: Multicultural History of America in World War II / Ronald Takaki. D769 .T42  2 copies
  • The Homefront: America During World War II / Mark Jonathan Harris, Franklin D. Mitchell, Steven J. Schechter. E806 H64 1984 Contains Primary Sources 
  • Major Problems in American History, 1920-1945 / Ed. by Colin Gordon. E784 .M315 2011 Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in the History of American Workers / Ed. by Eileen Boris and Nelson Lichtenstein. HD8066 .M34 2003 Contains Primary Sources
  • Major Problems in the History of World War II / Ed. by Mark Stoler and Melanie S. Gustafson. D743 .M246 2003 Contains Primary Sources
  • People's History of World War II / Ed. by Marc Favreau. D811 .A2 P46 2011 Contains Primary Sources
  • Wartime America: The World War II Home Front / John W. Jeffries. D769 .J44 2018
Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.

Search Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits. 
  • When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record. 
    • Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

 

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page