Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Exploring Groups: How did WWII change America?: Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

 

START WITH REFERENCE SOURCES for the essential background information on your subject.

 

Examples of Reference SourcesAlmanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.

Online Subscription Databases

Book / eBook Reference Sources

REMEMBER: Print Reference books are found in the Reference Collection and are for use only in the Library.

General Reference sources crossing over multiple peoples

Reference sources specific to the WORLD WAR II era

ASIAN AMERICANS

  • The Asian American encyclopedia. Ref E184 .O6 A827 1995  5 vols 
  • Asian American history and culture. Ref E184 .A75 A8287 2010 
  • Encyclopedia of Japanese-American internment. Ref .D769.8 .A6 E64 2013 

BLACK / AFRICAN AMERICANS

INDIGENOUS / NATIVE AMERICANS  (also known as American Indians and Indians)

  • Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights
  • Encyclopedia of American Indian history. Ref E77 .E48 2008   4 vols 
  • Native America in the twentieth century: an encyclopedia.
  • Native Americans (1451-2017) (Defining Documents in American history series). Ref E77 .N38 2017   (also an online ebook)  

MEXICAN AMERICANS  (also known as Chicanos; the broader terms Hispanic Americans and Latinos may also be used, but be sure the source is referring to those of Mexican descent.)

WOMEN