Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: Islamic Empires: Images

Images

  • It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without permission of the creator OR owner of the image.
  • Use the resources below to find images you can freely use in your project. 
 
Please note: primary source documents and images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

 

If you aren't sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

 

Tips for Citing Images in NoodleTools

Find Images in Online Subscription Databases

Images in the following subscription databases may be used and must be cited.
NOTE:  If the image is within the body of an article, you may have to create an original citation. If you can find a comparable image whose citation can be exported, you can choose to use that. 
Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.
Resource Allows NoodleTools Export means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett
OR email us at 
rpreviti@taftschool.org
  blovallo@taftschool.org
spadgett@taftschool.org  
We're here to help!

Find Images on the Internet with OpenVerse

 

Openverse

More than 600 Million Reusable Images!

Sources of images include Flickr, Wikimedia Commons, and the digital collections of many libraries, archives, and museums

 

All Openverse content is reusable under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
  •  A Creative Commons license allows re-users to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
  • The public domain consists of all the creative work to which no exclusive intellectual property rights apply. 

 

Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

 

Ideally Image citations appear on the same slide as the image.
  • To download an image to your computer, right click on the image and choose Save image as. (On a MacBook, Ctrl + click = right click). Save it on your desktop as a .jpg.
  • To get the image URL, right click on the image and choose Copy image address. Edit your imported NoodleTools citation if needed to update using the image URL.
  • To insert your NoodleTools image citation on your Google Slide, click on Insert in the menu bar and choose Text Box.
  • Paste your citation into the text box.  Be sure the text box is wide enough to accommodate the citation in proper Chicago format with the "hanging indent."
  • Alternate location for your citation - if your teacher approves - is in the Speaker Notes box below the slide.

Citing Images in NoodleTools

 
NOTE: Ideally, an image is cited on the slide upon which it appears. Alternately, if your teacher approves, you may place the citation in the speaker notes below the slide.
 
To cite an Image:

  • Choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

    • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.

    • Website =  a website like Openverse or an image found through a Google Image search.

    • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

  • Choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

 
If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti are happy to help!