Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: Islamic Empires: Mamluk Sultanate

 

MAMLUK SULTANATE, 1250-1517

Moussa, Mohammed. Mosque-Madrassa of Sultan Hassan. September 13, 2014.
     Photograph. Accessed February 22, 2021.  https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mosque-Madrassa_of_Sultan_Hassan_3.jpg.

UNESCO World Heritage Site: Historic Cairo

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources will have more specific information about your topic.

  • Secondary source books written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles (which are also secondary sources), and books. 

 

RESERVE BOOKS

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project.

  • DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:

    • Books on reserve will be available to you in the Library Reading Room Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor.

    • Please return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room before you leave the library at the end of class..

  • OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 10 sections of Foundations.)

 

TO CITE BOOKS OR eBOOKS,  CLICK HERE.

 

General (more than one empire)

  • The adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim traveler of the 14th century / Ross E. Dunn. G93 .I24 D86 1986 (also an online book)  
  • Chronicles of the crusades: eyewitness accounts of the wars between Christianity and Islam / edited by Elizabeth Hallam. D151 .C48 1993 Contains Primary Sources
  • A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
  • Islam from the prophet Muhammad to the capture of Constantinople / ed. by Bernard Lewis. DS36 855 .I77 1987 vol. I: Politics and war Contains Primary Sources
  • Islam in the Indian Ocean world: a brief history with documents / Omar H. Ali. BP 64 .A32 A45 2016  Contains Primary Sources
  • The Oxford history of Islam. BP50 .O95 1999m / ed. by John Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
  • The Oxford illustrated history of the Crusades /  Ed. by Jonathan Riley-Smith. D157 .O48 1995
  • Palace and mosque: Islamic art from the Victoria and Albert Museum / Tim Stanley. N6264 L673 2004  Contains Primary Sources
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003   (Link is to earlier edition available online at the Internet Archive) Contains Primary Sources

Mamluk Sultanate

  • The Black Death: the great mortality of 1348-1350: a brief history with documents / John Aberth. RC178 .A1 A24 2005  Contains Primary Sources
  • The Crusades through Arab eyes / Amin Maalouf. DS38.6 M3213 1985  
  • The history of Egypt / Glenn E. Perry. DT100 .P47 2016 
  • A history of Egypt from the Arab conquest to the present / Afaf Lufti Al-Sayyid Marsot. DT95 .S285 2007   
  • The Middle East in the Middle Ages: the early Mamluk sultanate, 1250-1382 / Robert Irwin. (an online ebook)
  • Muslim cities in the later Middle Ages / Ira M. Lapidus. JS61 .L3 (also an online ebook)  *all about cities / city life in the Mamluk empire
  • Soldiers of fortune: the story of the Mamlukes / John Glubb. DT96 .G57 1973

Contains Primary Sources = contains primary source materials

Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, memoirs, household and day-to-day objects, textiles and clothing, coins, works of art and architecture.

See the Images page for information on finding images of artifacts, buildings, coinage, etc. from your empire.

Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

 

TO CITE PRIMARY SOURCES, CLICK HERE.

 

Primary Sources in Books / eBooks

  • The Black Death: the great mortality of 1348-1350: a brief history with documents / John Aberth. RC178 .A1 A24 2005  
  • Chronicles of the crusades: eyewitness accounts of the wars between Christianity and Islam / edited by Elizabeth Hallam. D151 .C48 1993
  • Islam from the prophet Muhammad to the capture of Constantinople / ed. by Bernard Lewis. DS36 855 .I77 1987 vol. I: Politics and war
  • Palace and mosque: Islamic art from the Victoria and Albert Museum / Tim Stanley. N6264 L673 2004
  • Travels of Ibn Battuta / edited by Tim Mackintosh-Smith. G370 .I2 T8513 2003   (Link is to earlier edition available online at the Internet Archive) 

Primary Sources on the Internet

On the arts of the Mamluk Sultanate:

Primary Sources in Databases

If you have any questions,

see Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor

OR email us at 

spadgett@taftschool.org  

  taylorp@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Travels of Ibn Battuta: a Virtual Tour 

"You will be following in the footsteps of this famous 14th century Muslim traveler, exploring the places he visited and the people he encountered. To help you learn more about his adventures there will be images of the people and places he saw, information on the food he might have tasted, and "side trips" into the past and future."; this site began with the work of teacher Nick Bartel and has been expanded by UC Berkeley Office of Resources for International and Area Studies.

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it.

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities e-Book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Primary Sources

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a primary source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale in Context: World History.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a document found on the Websites section of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch or a search engine such as Google. 
  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

  • Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
  • If you are not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.