LibGuides: Foundations: Islamic Empires: Safavid Empire

SAFAVID EMPIRE, 1501-1736

Reflection of the Shah or Imam, Emam Mosque at Meidan-e Emam, Naqsh-e Jahan, Imam Square, Isfahan. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Accessed Feb 22, 2021. https://quest.eb.com/search/322_2746630/1/322_2746630/cite.

UNESCO World Heritage Site: Meidan Emam, Esfahan

Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources will have more specific information about your topic.

Secondary source books written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.
Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles (which are also secondary sources), and books.

RESERVE BOOKS

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project.

DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:
- Books on reserve will be available to you in the Library Reading Room Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor.
- Please return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room before you leave the library at the end of class..
OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 5 sections of US History.)

TO CITE THESE BOOKS, CLICK HERE.

General (more than one empire)

Cities of destiny / Arnold Toynbee. G140 .T69 1967 (oversize book)
A history of architecture in 100 buildings / Dan Cruikshank. N200 .C78 2015
A history of Islamic societies / Ira M. Lapidus. DS35.63 .L37 2014
A history of the modern Middle East / William L. Cleveland. DS62.4 .C53 2013
Islam: a short history / Karen Armstrong. BP50 .A69 2000
Islamic art / David Talbot Rice. N6260 .R53 1965
Islamic empires: the cities that shaped civilization from Mecca to Dubai / Justin Marozzi. DS36.855 M37 2020
The Oxford history of Islam / edited by John L. Esposito. BP50 .O95 1999
Palace and mosque: Islamic art from the Victoria and Albert Museum / Tim Stanley. N6264 L673 2004
Religious transformations in the early modern world: a brief history with documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009
Textiles, 5000 Years: An International History and Illustrated Survey / ed. by Jennifer Harris. NK8806 .T45 1993
The venture of Islam: conscience and history in a world civilization, vol. 3: The Gunpowder empires and modern times / Marshall G.S. Hodgson. DS 36.85 .H63 v.3 (also an online ebook)

Safavid Empire

Destiny disrupted: a history of the world through Islamic eyes / Tamim Ansary. DS35.63 .A57 2009
The history of Iran / Elton L. Daniel (an online ebook)
Iran: a country study / Edited by Glenn E. Curtis and Eric Hooglund. DS254.5 .I732 2008 (also available from the Library of Congress)
Iran under the Safavids / Roger Savory. DS292 .S26 1980
Iran : what everyone needs to know® / Michael Axworthy. DS272 .A945 2017
The Oxford handbook of Iranian history / edited by Touraj Daryaee. DS272 .O94 2012 (also an online ebook)
Splendor of the gods / Flavio Conti. NA4830 .C6613 (oversize book)

Contains Primary Sources means this source contains primary source materials

Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, memoirs, household and day-to-day objects, textiles and clothing, coins, works of art and architecture.

See the Images page for information on finding images of artifacts, buildings, coinage, etc. from your empire.

Please note: primary source documents and images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

TO CITE PRIMARY SOURCES, CLICK HERE.

Primary Sources in Books / eBooks

Cities of Destiny / Arnold Toynbee. G140 .T69 1967 (oversize book)
Great Buildings / Philip Wilkinson. NA200 .W54 2012 (oversize book)
A History of Architecture in 100 Buildings / Dan Cruikshank. N200 .C78 2015
Islamic Art / David Talbot Rice. N6260 .R53 1965
Palace and Mosque: Islamic Art from the Victoria and Albert Museum / Tim Stanley. N6264 L673 2004
Religious Transformations in the Early Modern World: A Brief History with Documents / Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks. BR252 .W54 2009
Textiles, 5000 Years: An International History and Illustrated Survey / ed. by Jennifer Harris. NK8806 .T45 1993

Primary Sources on the Internet

History of Shah 'Abbas the Great by Eskander Beg Monshi Translated by Roger M. Savory. A chief secretary in the court of Shah 'Abbas I (also known as Abbas the Great), Eskander Beg's first-hand account of Abbas's reign includes policy-making and administration, simplicity of life, concern for the rights of his servants, public works, and more. Book II contains information on the earlier Savafid kings.
A Chronicle of the Carmelites in Persia and the Papal Mission of the XVIIth and XVIIIth Centuries. The religious order of Carmelites documented many aspects of everyday life in Safavid Persia. Click here for the detailed table of contents.

On the arts of the Safavid

The Art of the Safavids before 1600 An essay with links to images from the Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History, Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Arts of the Islamic World: Safavid Period (1501-1722) from the National Museum of Asian Art, Smithsonian Institution.

Primary Sources in Databases

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Select Primary Sources or Images from the menu bar on your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools
World History: The Modern Era This link opens in a new window
Using the Filter+ button at the top of the homepage select Documents and Photos Illustrations under Media, which may include primary source artifacts and other images. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

If you have any questions,

see Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it.

Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities e-Book.
- Choose Book.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
- Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
- Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
- Choose Book.
- Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar.
- Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
- Choose Book.
- Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

If you have any questions, Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Primary Sources

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

TO CITE A PRIMARY SOURCE, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale in Context: World History.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
Website = a document found on the Websites section of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch or a search engine such as Google.
Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
If you are not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: Islamic Empires: Safavid Empire