Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES
Reference sources are encyclopedias and other reference material that give you a broad overview of your subject:
Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How
- This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
- Make note of terms, also called keywords, relating to your topic:
- Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
- You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.
Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.
REFERENCE SOURCES: WOMEN IN AMERICAN HISTORY
Thank you for using Print Reference books in the library only.
American Centuries: The Ideas, Issues and Values That Shaped American History
Call Number: Ref E174 .A534 2011 (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2011
NOTE: Contains an excellent overview of American women's history and progress century by century. In the ebook, search Women in the Table of Contents. It will appear 4 times; the 3rd is women in the 19th century and the 4th is women in the 20th century.
The ABC-CLIO Companion to Women in the Workplace
Call Number: Ref HD 6095 .S34 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Black Women in America
Call Number: Ref E185.86 .B542 2005 3 vols (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .E54 2009 2 vols
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Women in American History
Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .E53 2002 3 vols
Enslaved Women in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E443 .E57 2012
Publication Date: 2012
From Suffrage to the Senate: America's Political Women: An Encyclopedia of Leaders, Causes, and Issues
Call Number: Ref HQ 1236.5 .U6 S32 2013 2 vols
Publication Date: 2013
Gender Roles in American Life: A Documentary History of Political, Social, and Economic Changes This two-volume set examines how the evolution of gender roles in the United States has changed family dynamics, business practices, and our concepts of womanhood and manhood as well as affected debates about equality, political and military service, and childrearing roles and practices.
Call Number: Ref HQ1075.5.U6 G4674 2018 2 vols (also an online ebook)
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History" boldly explores the history of diverse women and how ideas about gender shaped their access to political and cultural power in North America over six centuries. In 29 chapters, the handbook showcases women's and gender history as an integrated field with its own interpretation of the past, focused on how gender influenced people's lives as they participated in migration, colonialism, trade, warfare, artistic production, and community-building. Organized chronologically and thematically, the handbook's six sections allow readers to consider historical continuities of gendered power as well as individual innovations and ruptures in gender systems.
Call Number: Online ebook only
Publication Date: 2018
means this source contains Primary Sources.
American Women's Biography Reference Sources
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!