LibGuides: Women in US History: Research Paper: Journal Articles

What are Journals and Journal Articles?

A journal (also known as an academic journal or scholarly journal) is essentially a collection of peer-reviewed research papers written by scholars for scholars. These articles are often long, but they are much shorter than books. Like your research paper, these articles will contain notes (either footnotes or endnotes) and a bibliography of resources including other journal articles, books / monographs, and web resources.

Tips for reading a journal article:

Read the abstract if provided. The abstract will summarize the contents of the paper.
Read the introductory paragraph; it will include the author's thesis statement.
Read the first sentence of each subsequent paragraph. This will help you identify the most relevant parts of the article.
Read the conclusion.
Skim the bibliography to identify additional resources for your research paper.

NOTE ON CITING JOURNAL ARTICLES: Journal article citations can generally be exported from the database to NoodleTools. Look for the icon.

FIND ARTICLES IN THESE JOURNAL DATABASES:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

means this source contains Primary Sources.

means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

THESE DATABASES ALSO CONTAIN JOURNAL ARTICLES:

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographies from Gale's vast reference collection as well as related full-text articles from hundreds of magazines and newspapers.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints, covering today's hottest social issues, is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/ovic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, and links to quality websites, as well as coverage of the latest scientific developments in over 200 magazines and academic journals.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.