LibGuides: Women in US History: Research Paper: Civil Rights, Immigration, Marginalized Groups

Civil Rights Movements (General)

For the civil rights struggle of individual marginalized groups, click on the link for that group in the Table of Contents to the left.

American Centuries: The Ideas, Issues and Values That Shaped American History
Call Number: Ref E174 .A534 2011 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816075182
Publication Date: 2011

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached pdf tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 1440841098
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Call Number: Ref HN57 .E594 2004 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0765680459
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Call Number: Ref KF4748 .E532 1998 3 vols
ISBN: 0765680009
Publication Date: 1997
History in Dispute. Volume 2. American Social and Political Movements, 1945–2000: Pursuit of Liberty
Call Number: Ref D20 .H543 2000 v.2 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1558623965
Publication Date: 1999

Immigration and Immigrant Groups

American Centuries: The Ideas, Issues and Values That Shaped American History
Call Number: Ref E174 .A534 2011 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816075182
Publication Date: 2011

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

American Centuries vol 5 20th C. Table of Contents

Encyclopedia of North American Immigration
Call Number: Ref JV6465 .P68 2005 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816046581
Publication Date: 2005
The Making of Modern Immigration: An Encyclopedia of People and Ideas
Call Number: Ref JV6450 .M364 2012
ISBN: 9780313392023
Publication Date: 2012
Opinions Throughout History : Immigration
Call Number: Ref JV6450 .I87 2018 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 168217722X
Publication Date: 2018
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Urban History
Call Number: Ref HT384.U5 O94 2019 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780190854195
Publication Date: 2019
U. S. Immigration and Migration Reference Library
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780787693312
Publication Date: 2004

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

Historically Marginalized Groups (General)

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Ref HT1521 E543 2008 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 002866020X
Publication Date: 2008
Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Call Number: Ref E184.A1 R254 2014 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1440803455
Publication Date: 2014

Asian Americans

The Asian American Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E184.O6 A827 1995. 6 vols
ISBN: 1854356771
Publication Date: 1994

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

Black & African Americans

The African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 0684312573
Publication Date: 2002
African Americans and the Presidents: Politics and Policies from Washington to Trump
Call Number: Ref E176.472.A34 B76 2019 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1440862117
Publication Date: 2019
Black Power Encyclopedia: From “Black Is Beautiful” to Urban Uprisings
Call Number: Ref E185.615 .B546647 2018 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1440840067
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780028658223
Publication Date: 2006
1st edition available in print: Ref E185 .E54 1996 5 vols
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Ref E185 .E5453 2009 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0195167791
Publication Date: 2009
Great Events from History : African American History
Call Number: Ref E 185 .G754 2017 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1682171523
Publication Date: 2017
Great Lives from History : African Americans
Call Number: Ref E185.96 .G736 2011 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587657474
Publication Date: 2011
Presidents and Black America : a Documentary History
Call Number: Ref E176.472 .A34 J66 2012
ISBN: 1608710084
Publication Date: 2012

Online Subscription Databases: African American History

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in African-American history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
African American Experience : The American Mosaic This link opens in a new window
Through primary sources and the lens of prominent scholars, this database gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day...Through daily content updates, this database keeps pace with the ongoing evolution of the African American story via the most current literature in the field.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

First Nations / Native Americans

Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights
Call Number: Ref KF8210.C5 E53 1997
ISBN: 0313293384
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Call Number: Ref E 77 .E48 2008 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1851098178
Publication Date: 2008

Online Subscription Databases: First Nations/Native Americans

American Indian History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on the history of American Indians.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

Latinx & Hispanic Americans

Hispanic Americans
Call Number: Ref E184 .S75 H5653 2007
ISBN: 0824210670
Publication Date: 2007

Online Subscription Databases: Latinx & Hispanic Americans

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.

LGBTQ+ Americans

Documents of the LGBT Movement
Call Number: Ref HQ76.3.U5 S756 2018
ISBN: 9781440855016
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Call Number: Ref HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004 2004 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0684312611
Publication Date: 2003
Great Events from History: LGBTQ Events Arranged chronologically from 1848-2017, GEFH: LGBTQ chronicles important historical events that have identified, defined, and legally established the rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities.
Call Number: REF HQ73 .G74 2017 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781682175910
Publication Date: 2017

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Women in US History: Research Paper: Civil Rights, Immigration, Marginalized Groups

Table of Contents