LibGuides: Honors US History: Change in America, 1877-1945: US History Databases and Reference Sources

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

for ESSENTIAL background information - facts like WHO, WHAT, WHY, WHERE, and HOW - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.

THINK ENCYCLOPEDIAS!

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
Make note of terms - also called KEYWORDS - relevant to your topic:
- Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.
Reference sources often contain bibliographies that lead you to secondary and primary sources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.

Online Reference Databases

American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, and more in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books and monographs in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Examines controversial issues in United States and world history, supported by nearly 2000 primary source documents from antiquity to the present.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
To cite an article in NoodleTools, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Note: ORE sometimes puts complex subjects that involve more than one encyclopedia category into only one database. If you are not retrieving the results you expect, please use this link to search all Research Encyclopdias at once.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, and several other history reference sets, as well as primary source collections.
To cite a reference article, choose Database and Reference Source. On the template page, choose Original print information provided. For the URL, click Copy Permanent Link to article in left sidebar of your article.

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

Print and eBook Reference Sources

American Centuries: The Ideas, Issues and Values That Shaped American History
Call Number: Ref E174 .A534 2011 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816075182
Publication Date: 2011

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref E174 .C655 2010 8 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816070938
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of American History
Call Number: Ref E174.D52 2003 10 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0684805235
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of America in the Twentieth Century
Call Number: Ref E740.7 .E53 1996 4 vols
ISBN: 0132105357
Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of American History
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 1438127448
Publication Date: 2010
Previous edition (2003) available in print: Ref E 174 .E53 2003 11 vols
Encyclopedia of American Studies
Call Number: Ref E169.1 .E625 2001 4 vols
ISBN: 0717292223
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Call Number: Ref E337.5.E626 2001 3 vols
ISBN: 0684804972
Publication Date: 1999

Great Events From History

Chronologically arranged by date of event, this series presents the major cultural, political, social events and more in world history, including the United States.

Great Events from History: The 19th Century, 1801-1900
Call Number: Ref D358 .G74 2006 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781587652974
Publication Date: 2006
Great Events from History: The 20th Century, 1901-1940
Call Number: Ref D421 .G629 2007 6 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1587653249
Publication Date: 2007
Great Events from History: The 20th Century, 1941-1970
Call Number: Ref D421 .G6295 2008 6 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1587653311
Publication Date: 2008

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors US History: Change in America, 1877-1945: US History Databases and Reference Sources

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

THINK ENCYCLOPEDIAS!

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.

Make note of terms - also called KEYWORDS - relevant to your topic:

Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.

You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.

Reference sources often contain bibliographies that lead you to secondary and primary sources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.

Online Reference Databases

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Print and eBook Reference Sources

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

Great Events From History

Chronologically arranged by date of event, this series presents the major cultural, political, social events and more in world history, including the United States.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors US History: Change in America, 1877-1945: US History Databases and Reference Sources

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

THINK ENCYCLOPEDIAS!

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.

Make note of terms - also called KEYWORDS - relevant to your topic:

Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.

You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.

Reference sources often contain bibliographies that lead you to secondary and primary sources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.

Online Reference Databases

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

This source contains Primary Sources.

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

Print and eBook Reference Sources

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

Great Events From History

Chronologically arranged by date of event, this series presents the major cultural, political, social events and more in world history, including the United States.

If you have any questions, see Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett