Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Your assignment: The first half of the Twentieth Century saw immense changes in the United States. These changes encompassed all aspects of American society from politics to culture to minority rights to economics to America's role in the world. You will write a 4-6 page research paper looking at a specific change in America from the latter part of the 19th century through 1940-1941. You will use reference sources, primary sources, secondary sources, and journal articles in your research.
NoodleTools Citation Tips for Reference Sources
To cite a Reference source, choose the option that best describes where you found your source:
- Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
- Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
- Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.
Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.
You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
- information about the article you used.
- information about the encyclopedia as a whole.
NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!
START HERE: These resources provide essential background information:
Who, What, When, Where, Why, How
Online Subscription Databases
African American Experience : The American Mosaic
Through primary sources and the lens of prominent scholars, this database gives voice to the African American experience from its African origins to the present day...Through daily content updates, this database keeps pace with the ongoing evolution of the African American story via the most current literature in the field.
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
American Indian History
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on the history of American Indians. Topics can be filtered by Culture Area, Era, or Subject.
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
Issues & Controversies in History
Examines controversial issues in American and world history, supported by nearly 2000 primary source documents from antiquity to the present. Note: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets. Search individually or choose any number of these sets to search simultaneously. Sets include: Defining Documents, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents, and The Reference Shelf.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600–2000
Thousands of primary source documents and other resources in American women's history.
Reference Sources: Print and Online
General U. S. history reference sources
Subject Specific Reference Materials
Click on the links below for reference materials in these subject areas
- Arts, Literature, and Music
- Business, Labor, and Economic History
- Eras in American History Gilded Age, Progressive Era, Jazz Age, Great Depression, and New Deal
- Federal Government, the Law, and the Presidency Political history, legal history, court cases
- Foreign Policy, Foreign Relations, and Wars
- Multicultural America and Immigration
- Science and Technology Medicine
- Social History LGBTQ, popular culture, reform movements, and women