Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Scholarly Journal Articles may also be Secondary Sources
Scholarly journal articles are written by scholars for scholars and present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources. Note: Scientific studies published in academic journals are considered primary source material.
Many are also peer-reviewed; in other words, they must be approved by other scholars in the field before publication..
Scholarly journal articles generally have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles, and books.
Look for journal article references in the bibliographies and/or notes in your secondary source books / ebooks and other journal articles.
Online Journal Databases
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. Limit your search to Full Text and Document Type: Article when looking for articles. Refine your results further by using the additional limiters in the left sidebar of your search results page. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains several primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets and over 100,000 ebooks. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
means this source contains Primary Sources.
means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
General Search Tips for Online Databases:
Limit results to Full Text.
- Make sure that all the results are items you can access by limiting results to Full Text results only. Databases often include a mix of full text items and abstracts/synopses of items. Selecting Full Text helps prevent frustration.
Look for search terms in article titles.
- Database searches generally default to keyword. Using the drop-down list to the right of the search bar, look for title, document title, or comparable term such as newspaper Headline.
- Look for filters / limiters on your results page, such as Subject and Source types. This will help ensure you get only the results that you want and will make sure you don't have to wade through as many results.
Use AND / OR operators (also known as Boolean operators).
- Use AND in your search when there are words that all need to be in your search results.
- Use OR when there are two words that can be used interchangeably, but at least one of them needs to be present in your results.
- Use NOT when you want to exclude a word from your search.
- coronavirus OR COVID-19
- coronavirus OR COVID-19 AND Spain (Articles about the virus in Spain only.)
- coronavirus OR COVID-19 NOT United States (Articles about the virus anywhere but the United States.)
Tips for Citing Journal Articles in NoodleTools
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.
Citations may be directly exported to NoodleTools from the following journal databases:
- Academic OneFile
- Academic Search Complete
To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete or JSTOR.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
- Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.
- Print or In Hand = a journal found in the library's Reading Room.
Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.
Most likely you found your article in one of the online databases. For your citation you will enter:
- Information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
- Information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.
If you have any questions about citing articles, see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti.