Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


AP U.S. G&P: Landmark Legislation Research Paper: Reference Sources

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

  • This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
  • Make note of terms, also called keywords, relating to your topic:
    • Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
  • You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources. 

Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

Online Reference Databases

Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.
Resource Allows NoodleTools Export means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Tips for Citing Reference Sources in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

For a new citation, click on +New Source.

To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale in Context: U.S. History
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite or Citable Link.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:

  • information about the article you used.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole.

Note: Reference sources originally published in print format that you find in a Taft Subscription Database. can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia
 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor are happy to help!

More Reference Sources

REMEMBER: Print Reference books are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.

 

ALL CATEGORIES OF LEGISLATIVE ACTS

Major acts of Congress. Ref KF154 .M35 2004   3 vols (also an online ebook)

CIVIL RIGHTS
CRIMINAL LAW
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT / TRADE / REGULATION
EDUCATION
ENERGY AND ENVIRONMENT
FOREIGN AFFAIRS / INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS
  • Encyclopedia of American foreign policy: studies of principal movements and ideas. Ref JX1407 .E53   3 vols
  • Encyclopedia of U.S. foreign relations. Ref E183.7 .E53 1997  4 vols
  • American treaties and alliances. Ref KZ236 2000
GOVERNMENT STRUCTURE and PROCESSES
IMMIGRATION
LABOR
NATIONAL SECURITY / WAR
NATIVE AMERICANS
PUBLIC LANDS / PUBLIC WORKS
  • Encyclopedia of American environmental history. Ref GE150 .E53 2011  4 vols (also an online ebook)
  • Encyclopedia of the U.S. government and the environment.: history, policies, and politics. Ref GE180 .E53 2011  2 vols
SLAVERY
SOCIAL PROGRAMS / SOCIAL WELFARE
TAXES
  • Encyclopedia of American economic history: studies of the principal movements and ideas. Ref HC103 .E52  3 vols
  • Encyclopedia of American political history:  studies of the principal movements and ideas. Ref E183 E5 1984  3 vols
  • Financial history of the United States (1492-2001). Ref HG181 .M297 2002   3 vols    
  • Financial history of the United States (2004-2009). Ref HG181 .M298 2011  2 vols
  • Gale encyclopedia of U.S. economic history. 2015  3 vols (an online ebook)
TRANSPORTATION
  • Encyclopedia of American economic history: studies of the principal movements and ideas. Ref HC103 .E52  3 vols
  • Encyclopedia of American political history:  studies of the principal movements and ideas. Ref E183 E5 1984  3 vols