LibGuides: Honors American Government &amp; Politics: Landmark Legislation Research Paper: Primary Sources

FIND PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL IN

HISTORICAL NEWS DATABASES

ALWAYS limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic.
Try searching terms, phrases, etc. that were commonly used at the time in relation to your topic.
Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Find articles organized by eras in U.S. History in the companion database America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-2000. TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690 – 2000 This link opens in a new window
A timeline-based interface divided into key eras in U.S. and world history from 1690 to 2000. Each issue/event includes an overview, and links to related articles in newspapers of the time.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1851-2020 This link opens in a new window
Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

means this source contains Primary Sources.

means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools

Historical Newspaper Databases by Demographic Group

Asian Life in America This link opens in a new window
"This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Asian American history and daily life – as well as the ways popular culture has portrayed and perceived people of Asian descent. " This database covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
"This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. " This database covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. This database covers from the arrival of Christopher Columbus to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

FIND PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL IN

BOOKS /eBOOKS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / eBOOKS

USING RHINOCAT

Find PRIMARY SOURCES by or about a person relevant to your topic in RhinoCat.

Do an Author search using the name of a person relevant to your topic to find books, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies written by that person.
Do a Keyword search using the name of a person to identify writings, interviews, and speeches in anthologies and collections.
Keywords you can combine with your topic or person's name include speeches, diaries, interviews, and correspondence. For example:
- Progressive era speeches
- Theodore Roosevelt correspondence

Find PRIMARY SOURCES on your topic in RhinoCat using Advanced Search.

Click here to open the Advanced Search page.
In the first Keyword search line, replace xxxxx with your search term.
In the next Keyword search line, change Keyword to Subject and paste in (sources OR diaries OR narratives)

These History Databases also contain Primary Sources

African-American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in African-American history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
American History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, and more in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos on the history of American Indians.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Milestone Documents - Factcite This link opens in a new window
1,700 of the most-studied primary source documents from U.S. and world history, accompanied by in-depth commentary and analysis from experts.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets including Defining Documents in American History.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Honors American Government & Politics: Landmark Legislation Research Paper: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.

Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.

NOTE: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

FIND PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL IN

HISTORICAL NEWS DATABASES

ALWAYS limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic.

Try searching terms, phrases, etc. that were commonly used at the time in relation to your topic.

Look for document-type limiters that may improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, front page / cover story, letter to the editor, etc

Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.

means this source contains Primary Sources.

means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools

Historical Newspaper Databases by Demographic Group

If you have any questions, see Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett

OR email us at

rpreviti@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

spadgett@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

FIND PRIMARY SOURCE MATERIAL IN

BOOKS /eBOOKS AND REFERENCE BOOKS / eBOOKS

USING RHINOCAT

Find PRIMARY SOURCES by or about a person relevant to your topic in RhinoCat.

Do an Author search using the name of a person relevant to your topic to find books, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies written by that person.

Do a Keyword search using the name of a person to identify writings, interviews, and speeches in anthologies and collections.

Keywords you can combine with your topic or person's name include speeches, diaries, interviews, and correspondence. For example:

Progressive era speeches

Theodore Roosevelt correspondence

Find PRIMARY SOURCES on your topic in RhinoCat using Advanced Search.

Click here to open the Advanced Search page.

In the first Keyword search line, replace xxxxx with your search term.

In the next Keyword search line, change Keyword to Subject and paste in (sources OR diaries OR narratives)

These History Databases also contain Primary Sources

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo,
or Mr. Padgett