Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: White Paper Project: Secondary Sources

 

SECONDARY SOURCES will have more specific information about your topic.

Books and journal articles are examples of Secondary Sources.

 

  • Secondary sources are written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.
  • Secondary sources usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles and books.

 


NoodleTools Tips for Citing Secondary Sources: Books / eBooks and Journal Articles

 

Online Journal Databases

Contains Primary Sources means this source contains Primary Sources.

Resource Allows NoodleTools Export means you can export the citation for this source to NoodleTools.

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Books on Reserve

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. Please click on the links below to see the list of books on reserve relating to each nation. If you click on the title of a given book, you will be able to see the headings from the table of contents listed to help you decide if you want to look at that book.

TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:

  • DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:

    • Books about your nation Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor. Return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room.

    • General books and Primary Source books Your group may sign out 2 of each at a time. Return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room.

  • OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 5 sections of US History.)

 

TO CITE: choose Print or in-hand and then Book. See more details below.

TIP: Scanning Using Your Smartphone is Easier than Photocopying!

 

5 of the Best Free Scanner Apps for iPhone and Android
By Christianna Silva, January

eBooks

American Indian Removal and the Trail to Wounded Knee / Kevin Hillstrom, Laurie Hillstrom et al. ISBN: 0780811291

Apache Reservation: Indigenous Peoples and the American State / Richard John Perry. ISBN: 9780292762732

Bureau of Indian Affairs / Donald Lee Fixico. ISBN: 0313391807

Columbia Guide to American Indians of the Great Plains / Loretta Fowler. ISBN: 9780231507370

Diné: a History of the Navajos / Peter Iverson. ISBN: 9780826327147

The Great Father: the United States Government and the American Indians / Francis Paul Prucha. ISBN: 9780803287341 

The Indian Frontier, 1846-1890 / Robert M. Utley. ISBN: 9780826354143

Legends of American Indian Resistance / Edward J. Reilly. ISBN: 0313352100

Native American Boarding Schools / Mary A. Stout. ISBN: 978-0-313-38677-0

Oxford Handbook of American Indian History / ed. by Frederick E. Hoxie. ISBN: 9780199983162

The Return of the Native: American Indian Political Resurgence / Stephen Cornell. ISBN: 9780198020820

Citation tip: choose Database and then Book. See more details below.

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

Print and electronic books can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

To cite a book, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • If you cannot export the citation, choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your ebook. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
    • Enter the name of the website, and publisher if given.
  • Print or In Hand = a print book, such as one found in the library 
    • Choose Book.
    • If published after 1967, look for the ISBN and enter it into NoodleTools.
    • Make sure you have the author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti are happy to help!

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Journal Articles

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete or JSTOR
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.

 

Next, choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.

Most likely you found your article in one of the online subscription databases. For your citation you will enter: 

  • information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
  • information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti are happy to help!