Skip to main content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS Taft Google Drive
TaftNet
Taft Calendar
Our Periodicals List
Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
Add a Network Printer
Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
Access the Papyrus
Download Audiobooks
Find and Evaluate Websites
Find Primary Sources
Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U. S. History: Native Americans: Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

 

START WITH REFERENCE SOURCES for the essential background information on your tribe.

American Indian Historical Timeline: Seven Periods of Federal Government Policy

Online Reference Databases

Reference Sources are...

  • Almanacs
  • Atlases
  • Dictionaries and Thesauruses
  • Encyclopedias
  • Handbooks
  • Also Bibliographies, Directories, Handbooks, and Indexes

More Reference Sources

REMEMBER: Print Reference books are for use

IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.

American Indians. Ref E76.2 .A45 1995  3 vols    

Encyclopedia of American Indian civil rights. Ref KF8210 .C5 E53 1997

Encyclopedia of American Indian history. Ref E77 .E48 2008    4 vols 

Encyclopedia of North American Indian wars, 1607-1890: a  political, social, and military encyclopedia. 2011 3 vols  (an online ebook)

Encyclopedia of North American Indians. Ref E76.2 .E53 1996   

Encyclopedia of the United States in the nineteenth century. Ref E169.1 .E626 2001   3 vols     

Indian treaties in the United States: an encyclopedia and documents collection. Ref  KIE19 .I53 2018     (also an online ebook) 

Racial and ethnic relations in America. Ref E49 .R33 2017 . 3 vols (also an online ebook) 

The Settlement of America: encyclopedia of westward expansion from Jamestown to the closing of the frontier. Ref E179.5 .S48 2011  2 vols (also an online ebook) 

UXL encyclopedia of Native American tribes. 2008  4 vols (an online ebook)

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Reference Sources

To cite a Reference source, choose the option that best describes where you found your source: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form: 

  • information about the article you used. 
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole.

NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!