Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: Women in World War II Resistance Movements: Websites

 

The Female Spies of the SOE (Special Operations Executive) from the website Historic UK's History Magazine. 

Forgotten History: the Women Who Fought in the French Resistance from The Local, "the largest English-language news network in Europe."

Heroes of the Resistance includes pages on women, SOE, resistance movements in individual countries, and much more. A project of HOPE not hate Charitable Trust.

The Holocaust: Resistance from The Jewish Virtual Library.

Jewish Partisan Educational Foundation 20,000-30,000 Jews fought back against the Nazis as Jewish partisans. The mission of the JPEF is to develop and distribute educational materials about these heroes of resistance. Includes a topic page on women partisans and a short documentary film, "Everyday the Impossible: Jewish Women in the Partisans".

Resistance from the British Library's Voices of the Holocaust project.

SOE Agent Profiles from the website of author Nigel Perrin. Includes list of links to additional sites on resistance movements in WWII.  

Women in the Resistance on the Riviera from the Musée de la Résistance Azuréenne. 

World War II Database: Women  Includes biographies of women in resistance movements.

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Primary Sources

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as World History: The Modern Era.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch or a search engine such as Google. 
  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

  • Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
  • If you are not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.
You can also see (or email) Mr. Padgett or Ms. Taylor, and we'll help you figure it out.