Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use them without the permission of the creator / owner of the image, be it a photographer, an artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution. Use the resources we provide below to find images you can freely use in your project.
Please note: primary source documents including images are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.
We recommend that you start your image search with the subscription database Britannica ImageQuest, which contains millions of images rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!
Classroom Video On Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-length videos and clips on core-curriculum topics across all disciplines.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
- Daring to resist: three women face the Holocaust (Shulamit Lack, Barbara Ledermann Rodbell, Faye Schulman) DVD on reserve at the Library Circulation Desk.
- Every Day the Impossible: Jewish Women in the Partisans. One of several short documentary films ...made from from a collection of 50 original interviews with surviving Jewish partisans shot all over the world; from the Jewish Partisan Educational Foundation which develops and distributes effective educational materials about the Jewish partisans and their life lessons,
- Gladiators of World War II: SOE British Prime Minister Winston Churchill established the Special Operations Executive in 1940 with young men and women who worked as spies in occupied enemy territory; from the database Classroom Video on Demand.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
You can also find images on Google Images
On your image search results page:
- Click on Tools.
- Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
- Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.
Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.
Jewish Women's Encyclopedia
Citing Images and Videos in NoodleTools
NOTE: An image is cited on the slide upon which it appears rather than in the bibliography at the end of your project.
To cite an Image, choose the option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
- Website = a website like Digital Public Library of America or one found through Google Images.
- Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.
Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.
For video, you will choose Film or Video Recording to cite an entire video, or Video Clip to cite a portion of a video.
- To download an image, right click on the image and choose "Save image as". (On a MacBook, hold down Ctrl and click = right click)
- To get the permanent URL of the image for your citation, right click on the image and choose "Copy image address".
NEED HELP? JUST ASK!