Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Revolutions: Women in World War II Resistance Movements: Secondary Sources: Books / eBooks

 

Secondary Sources / Monographs will have more specific information about your topic.

  • Secondary source books are second-hand sources written by scholars which present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources.

  • Sometimes there will be an entire book, sometimes you may have to assemble information from multiple monographs.

  • Secondary sources will usually have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles (which are also secondary sources), and books.

 

BOOKS ON RESERVE 

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. 

 

TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS:

  1. Use the links above to identify which books you would like to borrow.

  2. Ask Library Staff at the Circulation Desk for the specific books you would like to use.

  3. We will retrieve the books from the reserve shelves and sign them out to you.

  4. When you have finished using them or at the end of class, RETURN the books to a Library Staff Member.

 

List of books on reserve with links to contents.
  • Behind the lines : gender and the two world wars / Margaret Randolph Higonnet. D639.W7 B43 1987
  • D-day Girls : the spies who armed the resistance, sabotaged the nazis, and helped win world war II. / Sarah Rose. D810.S7 R674 2019 (SOE, Andree Borrel)
  • Daily life during the Holocaust / Eve Nussbaum Soumerai and Carol D. Schulz. D804.195 .S68 2009 (also an online ebook)
  • Daily life in Nazi-occupied Europe / Harold J. Goldberg. D802 .E9 G65 2019 (also an online ebook) (Sophie Scholl)
  • Daring missions of World War II / William B. Breuer. D743 .B67 2005 (Nancy Wake)
  • Daring to resist DVD D804.47 .D37 2006
  • Defying Hitler : the Germans who resisted Nazi rule / Gordon Thomas and Greg Lewis. DD256.3 .T47 2019 (Sophie Scholl)
  • European Resistance Movements, 1939-1945: a Complete History / Jorgen Haestrup. D802.E9 H3313 1981
  • Heroes of the Resistance / Editors of the Army Times. D802 E9 H4 (Krystyna Gizycka, Christine Granville)
  • A house in the mountains: the women who liberated Italy from Fascism / Caroline Moorehead. D802 .I8 M66 2020 (Ada Gobetti)
  • The light of days: the untold stories of women's resistance in Hitler's ghettos / Judy Batalion (Renia Kulielka)
  • Night Witches: The Amazing Story Of Russia's Women Pilots in World War II / Bruce Myles. D792 .S65 M94 1988
  • Quiet heroines: nurses of the Second World War / Brenda McBryde. D806 .M3 1985
  • Resistance : the Warsaw Ghetto uprising / Israel Gutman. DS135.P62 W2728 1994 
  • Shattering the German night : the story of the White Rose / by Annette E. Dumbach and Jud Newborn. DD256.3 .D825 1986 (Sophie Scholl)
  • Sisters in the Resistance: how women fought to free France, 1940-1945 / Margaret Collins Weitz. D802 .F8 W44 (Lucie Aubrac)
  • SOE in France: an account of the work of the British Special Operations Executive in France, 1940-1944 / by M.R.D. Foot. D802.F8 F6 1984 (Odette Sansom, Pearl Witherington Cornioley, Andree Borrel)
  • They fought back : the story of Jewish resistance in Nazi Europe / ed. Yuri Suhl.
  • A train in winter : an extraordinary story of women, friendship, and resistance in occupied France / Caroline Moorehead. D802.F8 M6367 2011
  • The unwomanly face of war : an oral history of women in World War II / Svetlana Alexievich. D810.W7 A5313 2017  (Soviet Russia)
  • Why courage matters: the way to a braver life / John McCain (Hannah Senesh)
  • Women and the Italian resistance, 1943-1945 / Jane Slaughter. (an online ebook) (Ada Gobetti)
  • Women and Yugoslav Partisans: A History of World War II Resistance / Jelena Batinic.  (an online ebook)
  • Women heroes of World War II / Women in war / Shelley Saywell. D810.W7 S39 1985
  • Women in war / Shelley Saywell.D810 W7 S39 1985 (Night Witches)
  • Women of valor : the Rochambelles on the WWII front / Ellen Hampton. D807.U6 H36 2006.

BIOGRAPHIES

  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy / Larry Loftis. D810.S8 O33 2019 (Odette Sansom, Andree Borrel)
  • A life in secrets : Vera Atkins and the missing agents of WWII / Sarah Helm. D810.S8 A86 2005 (Andree Borrel)
  • A Life of Resistance: Ada Prospero Marchesini Gobetti (1902-1968) / Jomarie Alano. DG575 .G59 A57 2017 
  • Lucie Aubrac : the French resistance heroine who outwitted the Gestapo / Siân Rees. D802.F8 R3218 2016
  • Madame Fourcade's secret war : the daring young woman who led France's largest spy network against Hitler / Lynne Olson. D810.S8 O4765 2019 (Marie-Madeleine Fourcade)
  • The Spy Who Loved: The Secrets and Lives of Christine Granville / Mulley, Clare. D810 .S8 G727 2013 
  • Three Ordinary Girls: The Remarkable Story of Three Dutch Teenagers Who Became Spies, Saboteurs, Nazi Assassins--and WWII Heroes / Tim Brady. D802 .N4 B695 2021 (Hannie Schaft)
  • Women heroes of World War II: 32 Stories of Espionage, Sabotage, Resistance, and Rescue / Kathryn J. Atwood (Sophie Scholl, Marie-Madeleine Fourcade, Hannie Schaft, Noor Inayat Khan, Pearl Witherington, Hannah Senesh, Anna Yegorova)
  • The women who lived for danger: the agents of the Special Operations Executive / Marcus Binney. D810.S7 B49 2003 (Christina Granville, Noor Inayat Khan, Pearl Witherington, Andree Borrel)

Open Access Resources Available on the Internet

 

Women in a Man's War:: The Employment of  Female Agents  in the Special Operations Executive, 1940-1946 A thesis by Cameron Davis Carlomagno submitted in partial fulfillment of a Master's Degree in War and Society, May 2019, Chapman University. Chapman University Digital Commons.

Partisans, godmothers, bicyclists, and other terrorists: women in the French resistance and under Vichy A thesis by Rayna Kline submitted in partial fultillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts in History, Portland State University, 1977. PDX Scholar, Portland State University Library. Free Download.

 

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Books / eBooks

 
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a book, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as ACLS Humanities E-book.
    • Choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Choose the name of the database, using the pull-down menu under My library's databases.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

NOTE: Print and electronic books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover or on the back side of the title page. If you don't find it, a library staff member can help. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor or Mr. Previti are happy to help!