Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: Women in World War II Resistance Movements: Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

 

START WITH REFERENCE SOURCES for the essential background information on your subject.

 

Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.

The following search terms can be used: resistance, partisan, underground, and individual / group names.

Online Subscription Databases

Reference Websites

 

Jewish Women's Encyclopedia is the world's largest collection of information on Jewish women and is dedicated to collecting and promoting their extraordinary stories; from the Jewish Women's Archive. Also contains a multimedia gallery including public domain images which can be used in your project. Includes in-depth articles on Hannah Senesh / Szenes and Havivah Reik.

 

Interesting Reference Articles

Sirota, Kelly, and Greta Bucher. "Women’s Role: How Important was the Role of Women in World War II?" In World War II, 1943-1945, edited by Dennis Showalter, 302-308. Vol. 5 of History in Dispute. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 2000. Gale eBooks (accessed March 26, 2021). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2876500049/GVRL?u=s1532&sid=GVRL&xid=89bc79c8.

Stoneman, Mark R., and William H. Kautt. "Resistance Movements: Were Resistance and Partisan Movements Decisive in Bringing about the Defeat of Germany in World War II?" In World War II, 1943-1945, edited by Dennis Showalter, 243-248. Vol. 5 of History in Dispute. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, 2000. Gale eBooks (accessed April 6, 2021). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX2876500041/GVRL?u=s1532&sid=GVRL&xid=58cc121b.

The print edition of the the above articles can be found in the Reference collection: Ref D20 .H543 2000 v. 5.

Reference Books / eBooks

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Reference Sources

 
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it.

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite or Citable Link.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole: author / editor, encyclopedia title, name of publisher, place of publication, and date of publication.
  • Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).

Note: Reference sources can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book or on the back side of the title page. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia
 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett , Ms. Taylor or Mr. Previti are happy to help!