Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
In a world of growing nationalism, migration, and globalization, how should we define citizenship, either legally, historically, or culturally?
- To whom do governments owe obligations as citizens? Which bodies, government or otherwise, deserve our allegiance? Identify one country or compare two countries that have experienced nationalism, migration, or globalization, and evaluate how these trends have affected citizenship in that country. Do the principles of citizenship compete or comply with these trends? Should they?
- 4-6 pages max, double-spaced, Chicago Citations
Online Reference Databases
START HERE: These resources provide essential background information on your country.
Annual Register This link opens in a new window
A year-by-year record of world events published annually since 1758, the Annual Register is both a primary source for historical research and a reference source for current affairs. Choose Browse to view annual volumes, each of which has the year in review and individual country reports. Most recent edition is 2018.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic NOTE:
Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Country Profiles on the Internet
BBC News Country Profiles Note: if your country's link takes you to a 405 error page, search the internet using your country's name and the phrase country profile combined with site:bbc.com. For example: China country profile AND site:bbc.com
CIA World Factbook (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
GLOBALCIT is a programme committed to fact-based and non-partisan analysis of citizenship laws and policies around the globe. GLOBALCIT publishes databases, analyses, indicators and debates on citizenship status and electoral rights. It relies on a large international network of country experts who write country reports, collect legal documents and provide input for our comparative databases. Its user-friendly interactive tools enable the comparison of data across countries and over time.
NationsOnline.org Award-winning site for country information.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!
NoodleTools Tips: Reference Sources
NoodleTools asks you to identify
WHERE you found your source and WHAT your source is.
To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, choose the option that best describes where you found your source:
- Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Country Reports or Gale in Context: Global Issues.
- Website = an encyclopedia or reference material found on the internet through a search engine such as Google, or one of the websites on this page.
Next you will choose what kind of source you are citing.
- For the Database resources, choose Reference Source.
- You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:
- information about the article you used.
- information about the encyclopedia / reference source as a whole.
- If your source is one of the internet resources, choose Website and then Web Page.
Provide as much information as is provided in the source. If a piece of information is not provided, such as author, leave the NoodleTools field blank..
Note: Reference sources originally in print can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) whether found in a database or in print.