Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source. Examples include eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.
Find Primary Sources in Online Subscription Databases
NOTE: when searching for primary sources in databases, ALWAYS limit your search to the date range relevant to your topic. Look at other limiters on the advanced search page that might improve your results, such as article, commentary, editorial, essay, feature, front page / cover story, letter to the editor.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 131 national & international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
ResearchIT CT U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present). NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Other Databases Containing Primary Sources
- Remember to limit the date range of your search. Generally you can also limit it from your search results page.
Academic Search Complete
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides full text access to thousands of journals in all disciplines.
More than 35,000 pages of cultural, historical, and statistical information, as well as current news on all the countries of the world.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues has more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries providing background and guidance on topics of global concern. Global Issues can be searched together with Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://support.gale.com/training/videos/gic
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
NoodleTools Tips: Primary Sources
To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
- Database = a document found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Access World News or ResearchIT CT Newstand.
- Website = a document on a website found through a search engine such as Google.
Next determine what kind of primary source you are citing:
- Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
- If you are not sure, you can use "Anthology / Collection" which enables you to cite a source found within another source.