Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS Taft Google Drive
TaftNet
Taft Calendar
Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
Add a Network Printer
Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
Access the Papyrus
Download Audiobooks
Find and Evaluate Websites
Find Primary Sources
Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Revolutions: Post World War II Decolonization and Independence: Asia

START YOUR RESEARCH HERE

The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.

Make note of terms relating to your topic which you can then use when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources. Examples: Names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic. These are your "keywords."  You will also use these keywords to search in the index of your ebooks.

General Search Tips:

  • Search phrases in quotation marks. For example: "New Deal" or "Great Depression".
  • Look for terms on your search results page indicating overview articles, such as Encyclopedia, Reference, Overview.
  • Look for Filter ResultsFilters, or Document Type and then look for terms indicating overview articles.

Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

East and Southeast Asia 2010-2010. World Today series. Ref DS502 .H5 2019/20 (previous year available in Main Collection upstairs)

Encyclopedia of Asian history. Ref DS31 .E53 1987 4 vols

Encyclopedia of modern Asia. Ref DS4 .E53 2002 6 vols (also an online ebook)

Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East. Ref DS43 .E53 1996 4 vols

Encyclopedia of western colonialism since 1450. Ref  JV22 .E535 2007  3 vols (also an online ebook) 

Great events from history: The 20th century, 1941-1970. Ref D421 .G6295 2008. 6 vols (also an online ebook)

Southeast Asia: a historical encyclopedia from Angkor War to East Timor. Ref DS524 .S68 2004. 3 vols

Databases in the box below also contain reference information on your topic.

Online Subscription Databases

Books on Reserve

Reserve books MUST BE SIGNED OUT and are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for duration of project.

 

Books / eBooks

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials. 

To find SECONDARY source books and ebooks:

  •  A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits. 
  • When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record, scroll down and click on Browse shelf to find additional books for your project.

Search Library Catalog