Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: Post World War II Decolonization and Independence: Reserve Books

Reserve books must be signed out and are for use IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for duration of project.

See NoodleTools citation tips at the bottom of the page.

 

PS = contains primary source materials

Africa - General

  • Africa and the West: A Documentary History for Colonialism to Independence, 1875 to the Present v. 2 / William H Worger, Nancy L. Clark and Edward A. Alpers. DT353.5 .E9 A34 2010 v.2   PS
  • Africa: The Politics of Independence / Immanuel Wallerstein. DT30 .W33
  • Africans and their History / Joseph E. Harris. PN4888.S6 H55 2010
  • Colonial Africa, 1884-1994 / Dennis Laumann. DT29 .L385 2019
  • Colonial Sequence 1949 to 1969: A Chronological Commentary Upon British Colonial Policy in Africa / Margery Perham. DT32 .P43 PS
  • Decolonization and African Independence: The Transfers of Power, 1960-1980 / ed. Prosser Gifford and William Roger Louis. DT30.5 .D42 1988
  • The Fate of Africa: From the Hopes of Freedom to the Heart of Despair / Martin Meredith. DT30.5 .M455 2005
  • Modern Africa / Basil Davidson. DT29 .D384 1983
  • The Political Awakening of Africa / ed. Rupert Emerson and Martin Kilson. DT30 .E46
  • The Political Thought of African independence: An Anthology of Sources / Gregory R. Smulewicz-Zucker. DT31 .P59 2017 PS
  • The Routledge companion to decolonization / Dietman Rothermund. D840 .R59 2006
  • Sovereignty and struggle: African and Africans in the era of the Cold War, 1945-1994 / Jonathan T. Reynolds. DT30.5 .R495 2015
  • Through African Eyes  / Leon E. Clark. DT1 .T48 1988 v.1  PS
  • The Transfer of Power in Africa: Decolonization, 1940-1960 / ed. Prosser Gifford and Wm. Roger Louis. DT30 .T73 1982 
  • Voices of decolonization: a brief history with documents / Todd Shepard. JV151 .S44 2014 PS

PS = contains primary source materials

Algeria

 

  • Algeria, 1830-2000: A Short History / Benjamin Stora. DT295 .S74213 2004
  • Algeria, a Country Study / Ed. by Helen Chapin Metz  (online at the Library of Congress)
  • The Algerian war, the Algerian revolution / Natalya Vince. DT295 .V56 2020
  • A History of Algeria / James McDougall. DT284 .M43 2017
  • A savage war of peace: Algeria 1954-1962 / Alistair Horne. DT295 .H64 2002  
  • Toward the African Revolution: Political Essays / Frantz Fanon   DT30 .F2713   

PS = contains primary source materials

Egypt

  • Decolonization: The British, French, Dutch and Belgian Empires 1919-1963 / Henri Grimal   D445 .G7313 1978  PS
  • The Decline and Fall of The British Empire, 1781-1997 / Piers Brendon   DA16 .B675 2008
  • The History of Egypt / Glenn E. Perry   DT100 .P47 2016 (also online) 
  • A History of Egypt: From the Arab Conquest to the Present / Afaf Lutfi Al-Sayyid Marsot   DT95 .S285 2007
  • The Modern Middle East and North Africa: A History in Documents / Julia Clancy-Smith and Charles D. Smith  DS37.7 .C53 2014  PS
  • Modern Egypt: The Formation of a Nation State / Arthur Goldschmidt Jr.   DT100 .G65 2001
  • Making the Arab World: Nasser, Qutb, and the Clash That Shaped the Middle East / Fawaz A. Gerges   DS63.1 .G47 2018
  • Nasser: The Last Arab / Saïd K. Aburish  DT107.83 .A5998 2004
  • The Oxford History of the British Empire: The Twentieth Century  v.4 / Judith M. Brown and WM. Rogers Louis DA16 .O95 1998 (also online) 

PS = contains primary source materials

Ghana

  • The History of Ghana / Roger S. Gocking   DT510.5 .G63 2005 (also online)
  • Ghana: The Road to Independence, 1919-1957 / F. M. Bourret DT511 .B68 1960
  • The Ghana Reader: History, Culture, Politics / ed. Kwasi Konadu and Clifford C. Campbell   DT510 .G47 2016
  • The Revolutionary Years: West Africa since 1800 / J. B. Webster and A. A. Boahen and Michael Tidy   DT476 .W43 1986
  • Politics in Ghana, 1946-1960 / Dennis Austin   DT511 .A84  PS
  • I Speak of Freedom: A statement of African Ideology / Kwame Nkrumah DT512 .N55 1961  PS

PS = contains primary source materials

Kenya

  • The challenge of nationhood; a collection of speeches and writings / Mboya, Tom. DT434.E262 M35 1970  PS
  • Histories of the Hanged: The Dirty War in Kenya and the End of Empire / David Anderson. DT433.577 .A53 2005
  • Jomo Kenyatta / Dennis Wepman   DT433.576 .K46 W46
  • Jomo Kenyatta : towards truth about The Light of Kenya / Delf, George  DT434.E26 K43 1961
  • Kenya: the tensions of progress / Wood, Susan  DT434.E2 W58
  • The myth of Mau Mau; nationalism in Kenya / Rosberg, Carl Gustav; Nottingham, John Cato. DT434.E27 R6
  • Unhappy valley : conflict in Kenya and Africa / Berman, Bruce (an online ebook)
  • Decolonization and independence in Kenya, 1940-1993 / B. A. Ogot. DT433.58 .D4 1995

PS = contains primary source materials

Mozambique

  • The Battle for Mozambique: The Frelimo-Renamo Struggle, 1977-1992 / Stephen A. Emerson. DT3389 .E54 2014
  • A Short History of Mozambique / Malyn Newitt. DT3337 .N46 2017

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Books / eBooks

To cite a book, choose the option that best describes where you found your source: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as an electronic book found in Gale eBooks or American History Online.
    • Choose Book.
    • Provide the permanent URL for the book (look for terms such as permalink, "Get link", Cite).
    • Provide the name of the database, using the pull-down menu).
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book or in the book's record in RhinoCat, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) whether found in a database or in print. For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover, usually lower right side.

​NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!