Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: Post World War II Decolonization and Independence: Reserve Books

To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. Please click on the links below to see the list of books on reserve. If you click on the title of a given book, you will be able to see the headings from the table of contents listed to help you decide if you want to look at that book.

See NoodleTools citation tips at the bottom of the page.

PS = contains primary source materials

Asia - General

  • Decolonization, a short history / Jan C. Jansen and Jurgen Osterhammel. JV151 .J3613 2017
  • Decolonization Since 1945: The Collapse of European Overseas Empires / John Springhall.   JV151 .D67 2001 
  • East and South East Asia / Steven A. Leibo.   DS502 .H53
  • A history of East Asia: from the origins of civilization to the twenty-first century / Charles Holcombe. DS511 .H65 2017
  • Pacific Century: The Emergence of Modern Pacific Asia / Mark Borthwick.   DS518.1 .B64 1998 
  • The Routledge companion to decolonization / Dietman Rothermund. D840 .R59 2006
  • The Twilight of European Colonialism: A Political Analysis / Stewart C. Easton.   JV151 .E2
  • Voices of Decolonization: A Brief History with Documents / Todd Shepard.   JV151 .S44 2014 (2 copies) PS

India

  • A Concise History of Modern India / Barbara D. Metcalf and Thomas R. Metcalf   DS461 .M47 2012
  • Gandhi and His Critics / B. R. Nanda   DS481 .G3 N3393 1985  PS
  • The Great Partition: The Making of India and Pakistan / Yasmin Khan   DS480.842 .K49 2017 
  • The History of India / John McLeod   DS463 .M224 2015 (also online)
  • Independence and after; a collection of speeches, 1946-1949 / Jawaharlal Nehru   DS481.N35 A342 1950   PS
  • India, a Country Study / Ed. by James Heitzman and Robert L. Worden (online at Library of Congress)
  • India: A History / John Keay   DS451 .K365 2000
  • India: A Modern History / Percival Spear   DS436 .S68 1972
  • Indira Gandhi, Letters to an American Friend 1950-1984 / Indira Gandhi   DS481.G23 A4 1985  PS
  • Jinnah, Creator Of Pakistan / Hector Bolitho   DS481 .J5 B6 1955  PS
  • Jinnah : India, Partition, Independence / Jaswant Singh   DS385 .J5 S56 2010  PS
  • The Middle East & South Asia / Seth Cantey   DS41 .C55 
  • Modern South Asia: history, culture, political economy / Sugata Bose and Ayesha Jalal. DS340 .B66 2018
  • The Muslims of India: a documentary record / Ed. bu A. J. Noorani (an online ebook)  PS
  • A New History of India / Stanley Wolpert   DS436 .W66 1982
  • The Shadow of the Great Game: The Untold Story of India's Partition / Narendra Singh Sarila   DS480.842 .S26 2005 
  • Sources of Indian Tradition  v.2 / ed. Stephen Hay DS423 .S64 1988 v.2  PS

Indonesia

  • Indonesia / J. D. Legge   DS634 .L44 1964
  • Indonesia, a Country Study / Ed. by William H. Frederick and Robert L. Worden.    DS615 .I518 2011 (also online at Library of Congress)
  • Indonesia: Peoples and History / Jean Gelman Taylor.   DS634 .T39 2003
  • The Indonesia reader: history, culture, politics / Ed. by Tineke Hellwig and Eric Tagliacozzo. DS634 .i53 2009
  • A Short History of South-east Asia / Peter Church. DS525 .F63 2017

Vietnam

  • Conflict in Indo-China and International Repercussions: A Documentary History, 1945-1955 / ed. Allan B. Cole    DS550 .C6  PS
  • The History of Vietnam / Justin Corfield   DS556.5 .C67 2008 (also online)
  • Indochina: An Ambiguous Colonization, 1858-1954 / Pierre Brocheux and Daniel Hémery   DS548 .B7613 2011
  • Indochina and Vietnam: The Thirty-Five-Year War, 1940-1975 / Robert L. Miller and Dennis Wainstock   DS526.7 .M55 2013
  • Replacing France: The Origins of American Intervention in Vietnam / Kathryn C. Statler   DS556.8 .S73 2007
  • The Struggle for Indochina, 1940-1955 / Ellen J. Hammer   DS550 H346  
  • Vietnam, a country study / Ronald J. Cima (online at Library of Congress)
  • Vietnam : A New History / Christopher Goscha   DS556.5 .G66 2016
  • Vietnam War Almanac / Kevin Hillstrom and Laurie Collier Hillstrom   DS557.7 .H556 2001

NoodleTools Citation Tips for Books / eBooks

To cite a book, choose the option that best describes where you found your source: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as an electronic book found in Gale eBooks or American History Online.
    • Choose Book.
    • Provide the permanent URL for the book (look for terms such as permalink, "Get link", Cite).
    • Provide the name of the database, using the pull-down menu).
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Print or In Hand = a book in the Reserve collection behind the main desk or found upstairs in the Main collection.
    • Choose Book.
    • Using information in the book or in the book's record in RhinoCat, enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Note: Books can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) whether found in a database or in print. For a print book, look for the ISBN and associated barcode on the back cover, usually lower right side.

​NEED HELP? PLEASE ASK US!