Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Progressive Era Group Project: Images and Videos

About Images

Images and videos created at the time of your topic are also primary sources!

 

It's so easy to find images on the internet, but that doesn't mean that you can freely use any image you like. In many cases, that use violates the rights of the creator or owner of the image, be that the photographer, the artist, a museum or other group, organization, or institution unless you first obtain permission.
Use the resources below to find images you can freely use in your project. 

 

Please note: primary sources including images and video are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or other content that is considered offensive today.

 

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image, please ask us for assistance!

 

Tips for Citing Images in NoodleTools

Find Images in Online Subscription Databases

You may use any images in these databases.

Find Video Clips in this database:

Find Images Using Google

Google Images 

On your image search results page:

  • Click on Tools.
  • Click on Size and choose Large so you get a clear, sharp image for your slide.
  • Click on Usage Rights and choose Creative Commons Licenses which allows reusers to distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon the material in any medium or format, so long as attribution is given to the creator.

Look for this Creative Commons icon

Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.

Creating and editing video presentations

If you're not sure about the usage rights of an image or if you have any other questions,

see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Images Tips & Tricks

 

Ideally Image citations appear on the same slide as the image.
  • To download an image to your computer, right click on the image and choose Save image as(On a MacBook, Ctrl + click = right click). Save it on your desktop as a .jpg.

  • To get the image URLright click on the image and choose Copy image address. Edit your imported NoodleTools citation if needed to update using the image URL.

  • To insert your NoodleTools image citation on your Google Slide, click on Insert in the menu bar and choose Text Box.

  • Paste your citation into the text box.  Be sure the text box is wide enough to accommodate the citation in proper Chicago format with the "hanging indent"

  • Alternate location for citation - if your teacher approves - is in the Speaker Notes box below the slide.

Find Images on Websites

 

You may use any images you find on the following websites.

 

Political / Editorial Cartoons 

American Cartoon Prints, 1800-1899 (from the Library of Congress)

Gilded Age Cartoons (from Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museum)

Gilded Age Humor (a digital album of cover images of Puck, weekly humor magazine, on the Library of Congress Flickr account)

Politics in Graphic Detail: Exploring History through Political Cartoons (a digital history exhibit from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania that features political cartoons spanning American history from the colonial period through the Progressive Era.)

Wikimedia Commons  (Wikimedia Commons is a free media repository of over 58 million freely usable items)

 

Other Image Websites

Digital Public Library of America (more than 37 million free-to-use images, texts, videos and  sounds held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. Keyword search or explore Browse by TopicExhibitions, and Primary Source Sets in the top menu bar. Browse by time period within Primary Source Sets.)

Historical statistics of the United States: earliest times to the present [1970]. (This PDF of the print reference source contains tables of statistics on a range of topics such as population, migration, labor, and business enterprise from Census.gov, the website of the U.S. Census Bureau)

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog: Search by the subject/contents of the photograph/print and date for best results. If you start typing a date, a series of suggested dates and/or date ranges will pop up. If you need any help, please ask a Librarian!

Library of Congress Albums on Flickr

The New York Public Library Digital Images Collection (Be sure to check "Search only public domain materials" when you search this digital collection of 881,097 prints, photographs, maps, and more.)

The Opper Project: Lesson Plans  (A topically arranged collection of historic editorial cartoons covering more than 100 years of American history from The Ohio State University Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & MuseumCartoons are in the public domain unless otherwise noted.)

Public Domain Images from the National Archives  (This set features images from the U.S. National Archives that are believed to be in the public domain. As NARA explains: "The vast majority of digitized historical documents and photographs in ARC are in the public domain. Therefore, no written permission is required to use them. We would appreciate your crediting the National Archives and Records Administration as the original source. For the few that remain copyrighted, please read the instructions noted in the description for the digital image.)

Wikimedia Commons: United States by Century (Wikimedia Commons is a free media repository of over 58 million freely usable items)

Citing Images and Video in NoodleTools

NOTE: If you are using an image in a slide presentation, you will cite it on the slide upon which it appears, rather than in the bibliography of your project.

To cite an image , choose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Britannica ImageQuest.
  • Website =  a website like Digital Public Library of America.
  • Print or In-Hand = a print book or reference source containing a chart, graph, or table.

Next you will choose the type of image you are citing. For instance, a cartoon or comic strip, map or chart, photo or illustration, or work of visual art.

To cite an video clipchoose the option that best describes where you found it: 

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Classroom Video on Demand.

  • Website =  a website like YouTube.

SEE ALSO Best Practices for Attribution with examples; from Creative Commons.