Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


U.S. History: Progressive Era Group Project: Secondary Sources: Books / eBooks

Expand upon your Reference Source research with Secondary Source books / ebooks.

  • These full-length books will have more specific information about your topic.
  • They are written by scholars and subject experts based on primary sources, secondary source books, journal articles, and other scholarly materials.
  • Sometimes there's a whole book on your topic, and sometimes a chapter or section.
  • They often present a new interpretation of your topic, and have a bibliography of recommended sources.

 

Tips for Citing Books / eBooks in NoodleTools

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Library Catalog Search

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits. 

  • When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record. 
    • Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
    • Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

 

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Scanning Easier Than Photocopying

TIP: Scanning Using Your Smartphone is Easier than Photocopying!

 

5 of the Best Free Scanner Apps for iPhone and Android
By Christianna Silva, January

BOOKS ON RESERVE To ensure equitable access, all reserve materials are to be used only in the library for the duration of the project. Please click on the links below to see the list of books on reserve for each topic area. 

Note: PS indicates a book containing primary source material.

 

TO BORROW RESERVE BOOKS
  • DURING CLASS TIME IN THE LIBRARY:

    • Books on reserve will be available to you in the Library Reading Room Your group may take these books to your workspace on the Library main floor. Please return all your books to a library staff member either at the Circulation Desk or in the Reading Room.

  • OUTSIDE OF CLASS TIME, you may come to the Circulation Desk and sign out up to 2 books at a time for use in the library only. When you return those books, you may sign out up to 2 additional books. (Note: the limit to the number of books is to ensure equitable availability of materials among the 5 sections of US History.)

 

TO CITE: choose Print or in-hand and then Book. See more details below.

eBooks

General
Industrialization
Labor Movements
Immigration
Political Corruption and Tammany Hall
Women's Movements

 

To Cite: choose Database and then Book

Tips for Citing Books / eBooks in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: We recommend that you NOT copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

Print and electronic books can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

To cite a book, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for Resource Allows NoodleTools Export  next to the database name.
    • If you cannot export the citation, go to NoodleTools, choose Database and then Book.
    • Be sure to provide the permanent URL for your ebook. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
    • Enter the name of the website, and publisher if given.
  • Print or In Hand = a print book, such as one found in the library 
    • Choose Book.
    • If published after 1967, look for the ISBN and enter it into NoodleTools.
    • Make sure you have the author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

 

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti are happy to help!