LibGuides: Honors US History: 1900-Present: Social History

Social History (General)

Social History

The tables of contents in the ebook American Centuries can be difficult to browse. To make them easier to use, we have attached tables of contents for the relevant volumes below.

American Centuries vol 5 20th C. Table of Contents

Encyclopedia of American Education
Call Number: Ref E174 .C655 2010 8 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0816068879
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: Ref HN 57 .E58 1992 3 vols
ISBN: 0684192462
Publication Date: 1993
History in Dispute. Volume 2. American Social and Political Movements, 1945–2000: Pursuit of Liberty
Call Number: Ref D20 .H543 2000 v.2 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1558623965
Publication Date: 1999
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: Ref HN 57 .O94 2012 2 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0199743363
Publication Date: 2012
Protests, Riots, and Rebellions: Civil Unrest in the Modern World
Call Number: Ref HM883 .U95 2018 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781410339089
Publication Date: 2017
Reforming America: A Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era
Call Number: Ref E661 .R44 2017 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1440837201
Publication Date: 2017
To cite an article in the ebook, choose Database and Reference Source. On the ebook homepage, click on "Cite this eBook" to find the URL for the book. Use this URL in your citation.
Social History of the United States
Call Number: Ref HN 57 .S622 2009 10 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1598841270
Publication Date: 2008
Each volume covers one decade of the 20th century: vol. 1 (1900s), vol. 2 (1910s), vol. 3 (1920s), etc.
To cite an article in the ebook, choose Database and Reference Source. On the ebook homepage, click on "Cite this eBook" to find the URL for the book. Use this URL in your citation.
This Is Who We Were: in the 1990s
Call Number: HC106.38 .T45 2017 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 9781682173794
Publication Date: 2017
This Is Who We Were: in The 2000s
Call Number: Ref HC106.382 T45 2018 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 1682177165
Publication Date: 2018

Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection of reference articles, primary, and secondary sources, and original scholarly essays from prominent historians provides insight into the social history of societies from prehistory to the 21st-century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Media

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
Call Number: Ref HF5803 .A38 2003 3 vols
ISBN: 1579581722
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America
Call Number: Ref E 181 .E6313 2011 2 vols
ISBN: 1598842277
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture
Call Number: Ref P95.82 .U6 C62 2009
ISBN: 0313343799
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Television
Call Number: Ref PN1992.18 .E53 1997 3 vols
ISBN: 1884964257
Publication Date: 1997
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Call Number: Ref PR1993.45 .G65 2007 4 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0028657918
Publication Date: 2006

Popular Culture

Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .B7825 2002 5 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0787656755
Publication Date: 2002
Each volume covers one decade of the 20th century: vol. 1 (1900s), vol. 2 (1910s), vol. 3 (1920s), etc.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 9780684314501
Publication Date: 2004
Fashion, Costume, and Culture
Call Number: (an online ebook)
ISBN: 0787654175
Publication Date: 2003
Material Culture in America
Call Number: Ref GN560 .U6 M37 2008
ISBN: 1576076474
Publication Date: 2007
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref GV583 .S68588 2011 3 vols (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0765617064
Publication Date: 2011
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Call Number: Ref E 169.1 .S764 2013 5 vols
ISBN: 1558628479
Publication Date: 2013
Earlier edition (2000) is available as an online ebook
World Clothing and Fashion
Call Number: Ref GT 507 .S6 2013 (also an online ebook)
ISBN: 0765683008
Publication Date: 2013