Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
START WITH REFERENCE SOURCES for the essential background information on your subject.
Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.
The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:
Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How
This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
DATABASES CONTAINING ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND REFERENCE SOURCES
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Online Subscription Databases : American History generally
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in American political, military, social, and cultural history. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Issues & Controversies in History
Examines controversial issues in United States and world history, supported by nearly 2000 primary source documents from antiquity to the present. NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Simultaneously search 28 Oxford reference encyclopedias in the humanities and social sciences individually or all together. Use the following link to view an online tutorial: https://youtu.be/GFfkoAAQSec
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American History
In-depth overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars.
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets. Search individually or choose any number of these sets to search simultaneously. Sets include: Defining Documents, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents, and The Reference Shelf.
Salem Press Online (All eBooks)
This is a way to search the entire Salem eBook collection at once. Use this when you are researching a subject that may cross disciplines to maximize your results.
Book / eBook Reference Sources
General Reference Sources in American history, 1990s-Present
Click on the links below for reference materials in these categories:
- Arts, Literature
- Business, Labor, and Economic History
- Civil Rights, Immigration, Marginalized Groups
- Federal Government, the Law, and the Presidency Political history, Legal history, Court Cases
- Foreign Policy, Foreign Relations, and Wars
- Science and Technology Environment, Medicine, Military sciences, Space exploration
- Social History Popular culture / Media, Reform movements, LGBTQ