To find reliable websites:
Next, limit your search to one reliable domain, either gov or edu. (gov for U. S. government agencies; edu for educational institutions in the U.S.)
Library of Congress Digital Collections: American History Searchable primary source collections at the Library of Congress; browse by topic, media, place, or time period.
Biography of America From Annenberg Learner educational resources.
The Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed The "Google" of African American history includes an online encyclopedia, primary sources, and much more.
Digital History Comprehensive U.S. history website, including primary sources, from the Univ. of Houston's College of Education.
Digital Public Library of America Discover more than 33 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Discovering American Women's History Online Digital collections of primary source materials browsable by subject, place, time period, and source type.
Famous Trials The Web’s largest and most visited collection of original essays, trial transcripts and exhibits, maps, images, and other materials relating to the greatest trials in world history. Created and maintained by Douglas O. Linder, professor at law school of University of Missouri, Kansas City.
Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 70,000 documents... and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials. Register for open access during the Covid-19 outbreak.
History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web An annotated guide to the best web resources in American history, including primary sources and websites. Developed by American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning, City University of New York, and the Center for History and New Media, George Mason University.
History of U.S. Foreign Relations comes from the Office of the Historian, U.S. Dept of State, and includes documents.
The Miller Center a nonpartisan affiliate of the University of Virginia that specializes in presidential scholarship, public policy, and political history.
People's Century is the companion site to the PBS series of the same name documenting the extraordinary events of the century through the revealing personal testimony of the people who experienced them firsthand.
Presidential Libraries provides exhibits on various materials on individual presidents, their presidencies, and their personal lives.
For more information on finding reliable websites, see the guide Find and Evaluate Websites.
PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from web pages if provided.
NoodleTools CANNOT GENERATE FOOTNOTES from copied and pasted citations.
For a new citation, click on +New Source.
Websites can contain all kinds of resources: reference or ebook content, journal articles, primary sources, etc. And sometimes they are just a series of original pages, often each with its own unique title.
If you can determine the specific type of source on the webpage (for instance, a newspaper article or the transcript of a speech), choose that source type from the list under Website. If it's not clear what type of source it is, choose Webpage.