Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Revolutions: The Mexican Revolution: Primary Sources

A PRIMARY SOURCE IS FIRST-HAND EVIDENCE

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source. Examples include eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, newspapers, works of art, and photographs.​

Primary Sources in Databases

Search Tip: Search your leader’s name and limit the date range (examples: 1910 - 1920; January 1, 1913 - March 31, 1913). Limit Document types to articles and editorials.

Primary Sources on the Internet

Elmer and Diane Powell Collection on Mexico and the Mexican Revolution (Consists of many unique materials with a focus on the Revolution period and key political and military men...Several rare documents include the signatures of Presidents Díaz, Madero, Carranza, and Obregón and such revolutionaries as Francisco “Poncho” Villa and Emiliano Zapata. From the DeGoyler Library, Southern Methodist University)

The Mexican Revolution (a sampling of articles from historic newspapers that can be found in the Chronicling America: American Historic Newspapers digital collection of the Library of Congress)

Mexican Revolution, ca 1910-1917 (Postcards of locations and events related to US military involvement in the Mexican Revolution; from Beinecke Library, Yale University)

The Mexican Revolution and the United States in the Collections of the Library of Congress (Drawn from the vast and unique collections of the Library, the website focuses on both U.S. participation and its understanding of Mexican events and also features key documents and photographs produced in Mexico held by the Library of Congress.)

 

Primary Sources in Reference Books / eBooks

Defining documents in world history: the 20th century. Ref D411 .A2 2018 2 vols (also an online ebook) Note: See vol. 2 for Latin American Affairs: The Diaz System in Mexico; Plan de San Luis de Potosi; Plan of Ayala; Henry Cabot Lodge: Speech on Mexico; U.S. - Mexico Tensions.

Milestone documents in world history: exploring the primary sources that shaped the world. Ref D5 .M55 2009  4 vols (also an online ebook) Note: Contains full text and analysis of Zapata's Plan of Ayala.

Primary Sources in Books and eBooks

Print books may be signed out for USE IN THE LIBRARY ONLY for the duration of the assignment:

  • Competing voices from the Mexican revolution / ed. by Chris Frazer. F 1234 .C734 2010
  • High lights of the Mexican Revolution (1918) / John Lewin McLeish (on the website HathiTrust.org)
  • The Mexican revolution : a brief history with documents / Mark Wasserman. F1234 .W373 2012

Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

FIRST, choose where you found your document:

  • Database (for example, The New York Times, 1851-2014)
  • Website (for example, The Mexican Revolution, November 20, 1910)
  • Print source (for example, Competing Voices from the Mexican Revolution)

SECOND, choose what kind of document it is. Some common ones are:

  • newspaper article
  • speech (either a transcript or a video)
  • letter

If you cannot figure out what kind of document it is, you can ask your teacher or a librarian for assistance. We may suggest choosing Anthology/Collection, which enables you to cite a source contained within another source.