NEWSPAPERS
USEFUL LINKS
HOW DO I?
COURSE GUIDES
DATABASES
Biography reference sources can be found throughout the Reference collection. The sources below are a selection of those biography resources.
Great Lives From History: The Renaissance and Early Modern Era, 1454-1600
Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished in the period. Plus complimentary online access to the full content of this great reference.
Great Lives From History: The 17th Century, 1601-1700
Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement who flourished in the period. Plus complimentary online access to the full content of this great reference.
Great Lives From History: The 18th Century, 1701-1800
Worldwide coverage of important men and women in all areas of achievement, who flourished between 1701 and 1800. Plus complimentary online access to the full content of this great reference.
Great Lives from History: Inventors & Inventions
Great Lives from History: Scientists and Science
Women in World History: a Biographical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Religion
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
In 1517, Martin Luther's legendary Ninety-five Theses set in motion a chain of events that fundamentally altered European history. The resulting Reformation of the sixteenth century proved to be one of the most important and far-reaching phenomena of an era marked by dramatic religious andsocial upheaval. A critical chapter in the history of Christian thought, the movement provoked political, social, and cultural transformations that profoundly changed the Western world.The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritativereference available on early modern European society as a whole.The Encyclopedia is a unique compendium of contemporary scholarship focusing on the complete range of religious and social changes wrought by the Reformation-- including not only issues of church polity and theology but also related developments in politics, economics, demographics, art, andliterature. It is an unparalleled source of information on the personalities and events of the era, with broad coverage ranging from biographies to extensive treatments of topics such as Lutheranism, women, law, the Augsburg Confession, music, the Holy Roman Empire, peasants, the Bible, persecution,and literacy.Offering exhaustive interdisciplinary and international coverage of all aspects of the Reformation, this is the ultimate reference on the subject. Transcending the bounds of denominational encyclopedias and dictionaries of Reformation history currently available, it offers the only comprehensivepicture of western Europe and the British Isles, along with southern Europe, Scandinavia, and east-central Europe in the early modern period. It is the first source scholars, students, and general readers in any discipline will reach for when studying the Reformation.
The Renaissance: an Encyclodia for Students
An encyclopedia of the Renaissance with articles on various aspects of social, cultural, and political history such as literature, government, warfare, and technology, plus maps, charts, definitions, and chronology.
Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Asian History
Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900
Europe, 1450-1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World
Europe, 1789 To 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire
Gale Encyclopedia of World History: Governments
Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War
Great Events From History: The 17th Century, 1601-1700
Great Events From History: The 18th Century, 1701-1800
Great Events From History: The Renaissance and Early Modern Era, 1454-1600
New Encyclopedia of Africa
World Eras: European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600
World Eras: The Industrial Revolution in Europe, 1750-1914
American Centuries: The Ideas, Issues and Values That Shaped American History
American Eras: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
American Eras: The Colonial Era, 1600 – 1754
Encyclopedia of American History
Encyclopedia of Latin America
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
Latin America, History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History
Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
Tobacco in History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
World Clothing and Fashion
Booms and Busts: an Encyclopedia of Economic History from the First Stock Market Crash of 1792 to the Current Global Economic Crisis
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: in History and Society
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance
Encyclopedia of World Trade: from Ancient Times to the Present
History of World Trade Since 1450
Industrialization in the Modern World: From the Industrial Revolution to the Internet
Industrial Revolution Reference Library
Macmillan Encyclopedia of World Slavery
Slavery in the Modern World
This two-volume reference on modern slavery contains five essays describing forms and causes of slavery and coerced labor around the world and its connection to such issues as migration, organized crime, and economic activity; followed by 450 encyclopedia entries offering details on individuals and organizations involved with slavery and efforts at abolition, relevant legislation and treaties, key historical events, and conceptual issues; and 230 pages of documents associated with the history of slavery, chronologically arranged from the US Tort Claims Act of 1789 to Pope Benedict XVI's 2006 proclamation on human trafficking. The following sample list of entry subjects may provide a sense of the scope of the encyclopedia section: Aborigines' Protection Society, Alexander II (the tsar who abolished serfdom), Lavrenty Beria (who oversaw the forced labor camps of the Soviet Union's NKVD), cane harvesters, chattel slavery, child labor, concubines, debt slavery, economic globalization, anti-colonial intellectual Frantz Fanon, American abolitions William Lloyd Garrison, human trafficking, illegal migration, Jim Crow laws, the Koran and antislavery, Nazi slavery, nongovernmental organizations, prison labor, Sex Workers Union of Cambodia, social reintegration of former slaves, Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and World Trade Organization.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
The World of Child Labor
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions
by
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions chronicles 2000 years of political revolutions and features approximately 300 articles providing answers to specific questions as well as in-depth treatment of events and trends.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450
Famous Trials in History
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations
The History of Government from the Earliest Times
The Dictionary of Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
European Writers: the Age of Reason and Enlightenment
Literature and its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Encyclopedia of Medical History
Encyclopedia of Pestilence, Pandemics, and Plagues
Epidemics and Pandemics: From Ancient Plagues to Modern-Day Threats
Great Lives from History: Inventors & Inventions
Great Lives from History: Scientists and Science
The Ongoing Columbian Exchange: : Stories of Biological and Economic Transfer in World History
Most people have only the vaguest notion of how profoundly the world was changed by Christopher Columbus's arrival in the Americas. Indeed, some of what is commonly regarded as traditional Native American life and culture--living in teepees and hunting buffalo from horseback, for example--came from the arrival of Europeans. This encyclopedia helps students acquire fundamental information about the Columbian Exchange through approximately 100 alphabetically arranged entries on animals, plants, diseases, and items that were exchanged, accompanied by sidebars throughout that provide interesting discussions of key people, companies, and other related topics.
Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery
Science, Technology, and Society: The Impact of Science from 2000 B.C. to the 18th Century
Agriculture in History
Agriculture in History presents 150 essays on the rise and development of agriculture throughout the world, opening with a series of articles on the rise of agriculture in northern Africa and Asia as far back as 9000 B.C.E As the articles move forward in time, they cover the emergence of agriculture in all the world's populated regions and account for major advances in technology and the spread of crops through different parts of the world.
The Cambridge World History of Food
by
Empires at War
Weapons and Warfare
World Food: an Encyclopedia of History, Culture and Social Influence from Hunter Gatherers to the Age of Globalization