LibGuides: AP European History: Early Modern Europe, 1650—1800: Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

The print and electronic sources below are encyclopedias and other reference sources that will give you a broad overview of your subject:

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
Make note of terms, also called keywords, relating to your topic:
- Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources.

Examples of Reference Sources: Almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries / thesauruses, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

Reference Books / eBooks

We have identified a number of reference books that may be helpful to you. The links below will direct you too a page that lists all of the books along with their cover images and how to access them.

Arranged by Library of Congress subject areas:

Biographies
B - C Religion / Philosophy / Civilization (for example, the Renaissance)
D History (Old World, not including the Americas)
E - F History of the Americas
G Geography / Recreation / Fashion
H Social Sciences (Including Economic History and Social History)
J - K Government / Law / Political Science
M - N Music / Fine Arts
P Literature
Q - R Science / Medicine
S - T - U Agriculture / Military Sciences

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

Britannica Academic
The world's oldest encyclopedia digitized for the 21st century! In addition to reference articles, it also contains primary sources, journal articles, ebook content, images and video, and links to reliable websites. To cite a reference article, choose Database: Original Content in Database.
Daily Life Through History
This comprehensive collection of reference articles, primary, and secondary sources, and original scholarly essays from prominent historians provides insight into the social history of societies from prehistory to the 21st-century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale eBooks
Search individually or all together the complete content of hundreds of reference books and monographs in all disciplines. Browse subject collections in the left sidebar. Use this especially when you are researching a subject that may straddle disciplines to maximize your results.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: World History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Modern World History
Overview essays, biographies, events and topics, primary source documents, timelines, maps and charts, images and videos from the mid-15th century to the present.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Salem History
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets. Search individually or choose any number of these sets to search simultaneously. Sets include: Defining Documents, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents, and The Reference Shelf.
To cite a reference article, choose Database and Reference Source. On the template page, choose Original print information provided. For the URL, click Copy Permanent Link to article in left sidebar of your article.
World History: The Modern Era
Chronicles influential world events and developments since the 16th century to support research and analysis of global trends, causal relationships, and current conflicts; with reference articles, peer-reviewed essays written by scholars, and thousands of primary and secondary sources.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

AP European History: Early Modern Europe, 1650—1800: Encyclopedias and Reference Books / eBooks

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How

Reference Books / eBooks

Arranged by Library of Congress subject areas:

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

means this source contains Primary Sources.