Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Agricultural Revolution in England 1500-1850
by Mark Overton, aProfessor of Economic and Social History at the University of Exeter. Presented by the BBC.
British History Online
British History Online is a collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. BHO also provides access to 40,000 images and 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles.
Connected Histories: [British History Sources, 1500-1900]
Research guides by topic with links to primary source materials.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Both searchable and browseable, ECCO includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas; freely available through the University of Michigan
German History in Documents and Images
German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present. The project comprises ten sections, each of which addresses a discrete period in Germany's history.
London Lives 1690-1800: Crime, Poverty and Social Policy in the Metropolis
Information and a wide range of primary sources, digitized and searchable, about the lives of real eighteenth-century Londoners; "Lives" and "Historical Background" are especially useful pages.
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Find Additional Reliable Websites
A Word about Wikipedia
Wikipedia's general disclaimer: "Wikipedia cannot guarantee the validity of the information found here. The content of any given article may recently have been changed, vandalized or altered by someone whose opinion does not correspond with the state of knowledge in the relevant fields."
If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at
We're here to help!