Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Useful Links for Teachers
See also HOW DO I? in the menu above.
Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines
Copyright and Fair Use: Copyright in the Classroom (Lisa Hopkins, University Copyright Specialist, Texas A&M University; Updated 8/11/2021)
The Educator's Guide to Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons (Sue Waters and Ronnie Burt, The Edublogger; Updated 8/24/2021)
Images for Educational Purposes (a research guide created and maintained by Joan Hopkins, Instructional Librarian, Benedictine University; Updated 8/24/2020)
PBS Series on Copyright for Educators (Video series designed to help educators learn about Fair Use and what they can and can't do within the category of "Teaching" in the Copyright Act.)
Teaching Students to Legally Use Images Online (Jennifer Gonzalez, Cult of Pedagogy)
A Teacher's Guide to Copyright and Fair Use (Karen Lagola, Edutopia; Updated March 22, 2021)
Taft Online Subscription Databases for Educators
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Education This link opens in a new window
ORE Education comprehensively covers both emerging and foundational topics in education studies.Spanning education globally, articles are authoritative, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated entries written by experts from many different methodological and theoretical approaches.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database containing hundreds of full-text high-quality education journals especially for educators.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A complimentary Ebsco research database for teachers, TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.