LibGuides: Resources For Teachers: Useful Links and Databases

Useful Links for Teachers

Request Library Assistance: Please use this form to let us know if we can pull together resources for your class/project on a course guide page, give your class library and/or research instruction, or to make us aware that you are planning to bring a class to the library. We are happy to help out in any way we can!
Create a Proxy Link for Off-Campus Access to Database Articles
NoodleTools Quick Guide for Teachers
Classroom Video Quick-start Guide for Educators
Create Journal and Search Alerts in EBSCO Databases Receive email notification when the newest issue of your favorite magazine is available or a new article in a subject of special interest appears in our EBSCO database Academic Search Complete.

See also HOW DO I? in the menu above.

Taft Online Subscription Databases for Educators

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education This link opens in a new window
ORE Education comprehensively covers both emerging and foundational topics in education studies.Spanning education globally, articles are authoritative, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated entries written by experts from many different methodological and theoretical approaches.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database containing hundreds of full-text high-quality education journals especially for educators.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A complimentary Ebsco research database for teachers, TRC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals.

AI and Education

Artificial Intelligence and Education: A Reading List

A bibliography [with links to full text in JSTOR] to help educators prepare students and themselves for a future shaped by AI—with all its opportunities and drawbacks.

Fair Use Evaluator (ALA Copyright Advisory Network)

Fair Use Evaluator

What this tool can do for you:

Help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code.
Collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation.
Provide you with a time-stamped, PDF document for your records [example], which could prove valuable, should you ever be asked by a copyright holder to provide your fair use evaluation and the data you used to support it. [why is this important?]
Provide access to educational materials, external copyright resources, and contact information for copyright help at local & national levels.

What this tool cannot do for you:

This tool does not provide legal advice. It records the information you provide it as well as your own judgment on the fairness of the use. See the tool [disclaimer] for more information.
Only a court of law can definitively rule on whether a use is fair or unfair. This tool does not assume or predict a court outcome.

Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines

Copyright and Fair Use: Copyright in the Classroom (Lisa Hopkins, University Copyright Specialist, Texas A&M University; Updated 8/11/2021)

The Educator's Guide to Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons (Sue Waters and Ronnie Burt, The Edublogger; Updated 8/24/2021)

PBS Series on Copyright for Educators (Video series designed to help educators learn about Fair Use and what they can and can't do within the category of "Teaching" in the Copyright Act.)

A Teacher's Guide to Copyright and Fair Use (Karen Lagola, Edutopia; Updated March 22, 2021)

Images for Educational Purposes (a research guide created and maintained by Joan Hopkins, Instructional Librarian, Benedictine University; Updated 8/24/2020)

Updated 12/15/2021

Images and School Projects

Can my students use images they find on the internet?

Teaching Students to Legally Use Images Online
By Jennifer Gonzalez for the website Cult of Pedagogy, Nov. 13,2017. "...the internet is absolutely teeming with images students can grab and use in a matter of seconds. But in most cases, they SHOULD NOT GRAB. Despite the fact that these images are easy to get, using them may be illegal."

Encourage your students to use rights-cleared images found in the library's image databases.

Images in other library subscription databases may also be used.

Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Access millions of images which are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use. To cite an image, choose Database. Then choose the source type that most accurately describes your image (for example: Work of Visual Art OR Photo or Illustration OR Map or Chart).
JSTOR Image Search (Formerly ArtStor) This link opens in a new window
The ArtStor Collection, now an integrated part of JSTOR, brings together more than 2 million images from top museums, archives, scholars, and artists — all rights-cleared for education and research — and provide tools for teaching and learning with visual materials. For individual JSTOR links to features formerly found on ArtStor, please use this link to the Feature Comparison chart.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Another good source for finding images is

Sources of Free Images to Use for Educational Purposes
By Meg Kharbach for the website EducatorsTechnology.com, Jan.8, 2024.
"The use of public domain images isn’t just about enhancing learning materials; it’s also an excellent opportunity to teach students about digital citizenship, responsible online behavior, and the respect for intellectual property."

Remind students that images must be cited!
Images used in Google Slide presentations should be cited at the bottom of the slide on which they appear.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Resources For Teachers: Useful Links and Databases

Useful Links for Teachers

Taft Online Subscription Databases for Educators

AI and Education

Artificial Intelligence and Education: A Reading List

A bibliography [with links to full text in JSTOR] to help educators prepare students and themselves for a future shaped by AI—with all its opportunities and drawbacks.

Fair Use Evaluator (ALA Copyright Advisory Network)

What this tool can do for you:

Help you better understand how to determine the "fairness" of a use under the U.S. Copyright Code.

Collect, organize & archive the information you might need to support a fair use evaluation.

Provide you with a time-stamped, PDF document for your records [example], which could prove valuable, should you ever be asked by a copyright holder to provide your fair use evaluation and the data you used to support it. [why is this important?]

Provide access to educational materials, external copyright resources, and contact information for copyright help at local & national levels.

What this tool cannot do for you:

This tool does not provide legal advice. It records the information you provide it as well as your own judgment on the fairness of the use. See the tool [disclaimer] for more information.

Only a court of law can definitively rule on whether a use is fair or unfair. This tool does not assume or predict a court outcome.

Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines

Images and School Projects

Can my students use images they find on the internet?

Encourage your students to use rights-cleared images found in the library's image databases.

Images in other library subscription databases may also be used.

Another good source for finding images is

Remind students that images must be cited!

Images used in Google Slide presentations should be cited at the bottom of the slide on which they appear.