Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Modern World History: Russian Revolution Infographic: Reference Sources

START YOUR RESEARCH WITH REFERENCE SOURCES

for ESSENTIAL background information - facts like WHO, WHAT, WHY, WHERE, and HOW - that will be useful as you dive deeper into your research.

 

THINK ENCYCLOPEDIAS!

 

  • This will allow you to better understand where the specific information you find later fits in the bigger picture.
  • Make note of terms - also called KEYWORDS - relevant to your topic:
    • Examples: names of people; important dates; relevant legislation; words or expressions unique to your topic.
  • You can use these keywords when searching for secondary sources (books and journal articles) and primary sources. 
  • Reference sources often contain bibliographies that lead you to secondary and primary sources.
Examples of Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, thesauruses, and indexes.

BBC Timeline of Soviet History

ONLINE REFERENCE DATABASES

Resource Allows NoodleTools Export Citations can be exported from this source to NoodleTools.
Contains Primary Sources This source contains Primary Sources.

 

Scan pages from books and other print sources 

including title page and back side of title page
and email the PDF to your Taft email
with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russia Revolution

 

Click below to open the Table of Contents of the Blackwell Encyclopedia of the Russian Revolution:

PRINT and eBOOK REFERENCE SOURCES

REMEMBER: Print Reference Sources are for use in the library only.

To Cite: Choose Reference source. Copy and paste the ISBN into the ISBN search bar in NoodleTools. 

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  blovallo@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!