Skip to Main Content
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •NoodleTools
•Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries HOW DO I? •Print to a Network Printer
•Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Modern World History: Russian Revolution Infographic: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

 

Any document, image, or artifact created at the time of the topic being researched is a primary source.
Examples include: eyewitness accounts, autobiographies and memoirs, diaries, letters, speeches, reports, newspapers, household and day-to-day objects, clothing, works of art, architecture, and photographs.
Please note: primary source documents are a reflection of the time and culture in which they were created and may contain language or images that are considered offensive today.

 

Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

Primary Source Collections in Databases

PRIMARY SOURCE BOOKS ON RESERVE

  • CLICK HERE FOR THE LIST OF BOOKS ON RESERVE.
  • To ensure equitable access, these books may be used IN THE LIBRARY ONLY.
  • You may scan pages using your smartphone - Remember the title page and back of the title page!
    • See the info box below about Genius Scan.
 
  • During class time,
    • Reserve books will be freely available on the book truck(s).
    • Books do not need to be signed out. 
    • You are on your honor to return all books before leaving the library at the end of class.
  • Outside of class time / after the class day: 
    • Reserve books / book truck(s) will be behind the Circulation Desk
    • You may sign books out for use in the library only. 
    • You are on your honor to return all books before leaving the library.

Soviet Posters

PRIMARY SOURCE COLLECTIONS ON THE INTERNET

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  blovallo@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Genius Scan

Scan pages from books and other print sources 

including title page and back side of title page
and email the PDF to your Taft email
with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic source found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for Resource Allows NoodleTools Export  next to the database name.
    • If you find a document in a Taft Subscription Database that doesn't have the export feature, you will create an original citation.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, Citable Link. 

  • Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide or a search engine such as Google or Sweetsearch. 

  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source book.

Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

  • Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
  • If you are not sure, Anthology / Collection enables you to cite a source found within another source. For a document found on a website, Web Page works well in many cases.
If you have any questions, Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett are happy to help!