Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Revolutions: Industrial Revolution: Journal Articles

This guide is to assist with the Culminating Assessment for the Industrial Revolution section of the Revolutions course.

Scholarly Journal Articles may also be Secondary Sources

  • Scholarly journal articles are written by scholars for scholars and present a new interpretation or thesis based upon a synthesis of primary sources, scholarly journal articles, and other secondary sources. Note: Scientific studies published in academic journals are considered primary source material.

  • Many are also peer-reviewed; in other words, they must be approved by other scholars in the field before they are published.

  • Scholarly journal articles generally have a bibliography of materials for further study, including primary sources, journal articles, and books.

  • Note: You may find journal article references in the bibliographies and/or notes in your secondary source books and ebooks as well as in other journal articles. Be sure to look for them! 

 

NoodleTools Tips for Citing Journal Articles

 

See General Search Tips for Online Subscription Databases below.

Journal Databases

If you have any questions,
see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

General Search Tips for Online Subscription Databases

  • Limit results to Full Text.
    • Make sure that all the results are items you can access by limiting results to Full Text results only. Databases often include a mix of full text items and abstracts/synopses of items. Selecting Full Text helps prevent frustration.
  • Look for search terms in article titles
    • ​Database searches generally default to keyword. Using the drop-down list to the right of the search bar, look for titledocument title, or comparable term such as newspaper Headline.
  • Use Filters.
    • Look for filters / limiters on your results page, such as Subject and Source types. This will help ensure you get only the results that you want and will make sure you don't have to wade through as many results.
  • Use AND / OR operators (also known as Boolean operators).
    • Use AND in your search when there are words that all need to be in your search results.
    • Use OR when there are two words that can be used interchangeably, but at least one of them needs to be present in your results.
    • Use NOT when you want to exclude a word from your search.