Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Revolutions: Industrial Revolution: NoodleTools

This guide is to assist with the Culminating Assessment for the Industrial Revolution section of the Revolutions course.

Ready to cite your sources using NoodleTools? 

NoodleTools will ask:

1. Where did you find your source? Most likely it will be one of these:

  • Database 

  • Website

  • Print or in-hand

2. What is your source? Most likely, it will be one of these:

  • Primary Source, such newspaper articles, eyewitness accounts, diaries, letters, speeches (These are often found within another source, such as a book or a reference source).

  • Reference Source

  • Journal

  • Book

 

VERY IMPORTANT!  Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic OR internet sources. 
NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

 

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT CITING YOUR SOURCES,
see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

Citing Primary Sources

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as World History: The Modern World. You can export citations from many of our databases. If you find a document in a Taft Subscription Database that doesn't have the export feature, you will need to create an original citation.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide, found through a web directory like SweetSearch or a search engine such as Google. 
  • Print or In Hand = a document found in a print book. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source.

Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

  • If you found a primary source within another source (a letter in a book, for example), you can use "Anthology / Collection".
  • You can also look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, speech, or letter? If so, you can choose that item type.
If in doubt, see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti and we'll help you figure it out.

Citing Reference Sources

Reference sources can be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if providedThe ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the library catalog record. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you use the ISBN method, you will still have to fill in the information about the specific article you used because this method only imports the information about the encyclopedia as a whole (title, editor, publisher, etc.).

To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • If you cannot export the citation, choose Reference Source
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite or Citable Link.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole: author / editor, encyclopedia title, name of publisher, place of publication, and date of publication.

Citing Books / eBooks

Print and electronic books can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

To cite a book, choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

  • Database = an electronic book found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • If you cannot export the citation, choose Book.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your ebook. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
    • Complete information about the book (author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date).
  • Website = an electronic book found on the Internet using a search engine like Google.
    • Choose Book.
    • Copy and paste the URL for the book from your browser address bar. 
    • Enter author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date. If there's an ISBN, search that number to get the information about the book.
    • Enter the name of the website, and publisher if given.
  • Print or In Hand = a print book, such as one found in the library 
    • Choose Book.
    • If published after 1967, look for the ISBN and enter it into NoodleTools.
    • Make sure you have the author, title, publication place, publisher, and publication date.

Citing Journal Articles

To cite a Journal article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it: 
  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Academic Search Complete or JSTOR. You can export citations from many of our databases. If you find a document in a Taft Subscription Database that doesn't have the export feature, you will need to create an original citation. 
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = a full-text journal article found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a journal found in the library's Reading Room.

Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Journal.

Most likely you found your article in one of the online databases. For your citation you will enter: 

  • Information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
  • Information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.

Citing Websites

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from web pages if given. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copies and pasted citation.

 

To cite a source on a website, choose Website.

Remember: a website is an online source you discover through Google (or another search engine) as opposed to a subscription database you access through the library.

  • Websites can contain many kinds of sources including: Reference articles, ebook content, journal articles, primary sources, newspaper articles, speech transcripts, images, etc.
  • If you can determine it, select the source type from the list under Website in NoodleTools.
  • If it's not clear what type of source it is, choose Webpage.

 

If you would like help evaluating a source, see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti.
We're happy to help!