Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Unconventional Narrators: Circe Final Assignment: Mythology Books (On book truck)

** Two asterisks in front of a book title indicates that you will find the book on the GENERAL MYTHOLOGY shelf
because it covers more than one culture or geographic area.
Myths of Africa
  • **Legends of the world / Richard Cavendish. GR78 .L44 1982. (ISBN: 0805238050)
  • **Myths and Legends / Neil Philip. BL311 .P46 1999 (ISBN: 0789441179)
  • **Goddess: Myths of the Female Divine / David Leeming & Jake Page. BL325 .F4 L44 1994 (ISBN: 0195086392)
  • The Origin of Life and Death: African Creation Myths / Ulli Beier. GR355 .B4 1969 (no ISBN)
Myths of the Americas
  • American Indian Myths and Legends / Richard Erdoes and Alfonso Ortiz. E98.F6 A47 1984 (ISBN: 0394507967)
  • **Goddess: Myths of the Female Divine / David Leeming & Jake Page. BL325 .F4 L44 1994 (ISBN: 0195086392)
  • **Legends of the world / Richard Cavendish. GR78 .L44 1982. (ISBN: 0805238050)
  • The Maya: Life, Myth, and Art / Timothy Laughton. F1434.2.R3 L3 2004. (780760748596)
  • Mexican and Central American Mythology / Irene Nicholson. F1219.3.R38 N5 1985 (ISBN: 0872260038)
  • Mexico and Peru / Lewis Spence. BL310 .M9  (no ISBN)
  • **Myths and Legends / Neil Philip. BL311 .P46 1999 (ISBN: 0789441179)
  • North American Indian Mythology / Cottie A. Burland. E98.R3 B96 1985 (ISBN: 087226016X)
  • North American Indians / Lewis Spence. BL310 .M9 (no ISBN)
  • **Orpheus: Myths of the World /  Pardraic Colum. BL310 .C55  (no ISBN)
  • Popol Vuh: The Mayan Book of the Dawn of Life / Dennis Tedlock. F1465 .P813 1996  (9780684818450)
  • Pueblo Gods and Myths / Hamilton Tyler. E99.P9 T9 (no ISBN)
Myths of Asia
  • Chinese Mythology / Anthony Christie. BL1802 .C557 1985 (ISBN: 0872260151)
  • A Dictionary of Asian Mythology by David Leeming. Ref BL1005 .L46 2001 (ISBN: 0195120523)
  • **Goddess: Myths of the Female Divine / David Leeming & Jake Page. BL325 .F4 L44 1994 (ISBN: 0195086392)
  • Indian Mythology / Veronica Ions. BL2003 .I6 1984 (ISBN: 0911745556)
  • **Legends of the world / Richard Cavendish. GR78 .L44 1982. (ISBN: 0805238050)
  • The Masks of God: Oriental Mythology / Joseph Campbell. BL311 .C27 v. 2 (no ISBN)
  • **Myths and Legends / Neil Philip. BL311 .P46 1999 (ISBN: 0789441179)
  • Myths and Legends: Japan / F. Hadland Davis. BL310 .M9 v. 6  (no ISBN)
  • Myths of the Hindus and Buddhists /  Sister Nivedita (Margaret E. Noble). BL310 .M9 (no ISBN)
  • **Orpheus: Myths of the World /  Pardraic Colum. BL310 .C55  (no ISBN)
Myths of Europe
  • Celtic Women: Women in Celtic Society and Literature / Peter Berresford Ellis. HQ1137.C45 E45 1996
  • Dictionary of Celtic Mythology / James McKillop. Ref BL900 .M445 1998 (ISBN: 0198691572)
  • Druids, Gods, and Heroes from Celtic Mythology / Anne Ross. BL900 .R59 1986. (ISBN: 0805240144)
  • European Mythology / Jacqueline Simpson. GR135 .S56 1987 (ISBN: 0872260445)
  • **Goddess: Myths of the Female Divine / David Leeming & Jake Page. BL325 .F4 L44 1994 (ISBN: 0195086392)
  • **Legends of the world / Richard Cavendish. GR78 .L44 1982. (ISBN: 0805238050)
  • **Myths and Legends / Neil Philip. BL311 .P46 1999 (ISBN: 0789441179)
  • Myths and Legends: The British Race / M.F. Ebbutt. BL310 .M9 v.3 (no ISBN)
  • Myths and Legends: The Celtic Race / T.W. Rolleston. BL310 .M9 v.4 (no ISBN)
  • Norse Mythology / Neil Gaiman. BL860 .G35 2017 (ISBN: 9780393609097)
  • **Orpheus: Myths of the World /  Pardraic Colum. BL310 .C55  (no ISBN)

 

Myths of the Ancient World
  • Ancient Egypt / Lewis Spence. BL910 .M9 (no ISBN)
  • Classic Ancient Mythology / Richard Patrick & Peter Croft. BL722 .P3 [includes Egyptian]
  • **Goddess: Myths of the Female Divine / David Leeming & Jake Page. BL325 .F4 L44 1994 (ISBN: 0195086392)
  • **Legends of the world / Richard Cavendish. GR78 .L44 1982. (ISBN: 0805238050)
  • **Myths and Legends / Neil Philip. BL311 .P46 1999 (ISBN: 0789441179)
  • Myths and Legends of Ancient Egypt / T.G.H. James. BL2441.2 .J3 1971. (ISBN: 0448008661)
  • Myths and Legends: Babylonia and Assyria /  Lewis Spence. BL910 .M9  (no ISBN)
  • **Orpheus: Myths of the World /  Pardraic Colum. BL310 .C55  (no ISBN)
 

Classical Mythology of the Greeks and Romans
  • Aphrodite's Blessings: Love Stories from the Greek Myths / Clemence McLaren. BL785 .35 2002 (ISBN: 0689843771)
  • Classic Ancient Mythology / Richard Patrick & Peter Croft. BL722 .P39  (ISBN: 0861784936)
  • Great Zeus and All His Children / Donald Richardson. BL702 .R5 1984  (ISBN: 0133649431)
  • The Greek Myths / Robert Graves. BL781 G65 1957 (no ISBN)
  • The Greeks and Their Gods / W.K. C. Guthrie. BL781 .g8 1955 (no ISBN)
  • Monsters of Mythology. BL 820 (Click link to view the list of the 21 titles, each focusing on a "monster" in Greek mythology. These books are upstairs in the Main Collection.)
  • Mythology / Edith Hamilton. BL310 .H3 (no ISBN)
  • **Orpheus: Myths of the World /  Pardraic Colum. BL310 .C55  (no ISBN)
  • Who's Who in Classical Mythology / Michael Grant & John Hazel. Ref BL715 .B445
  • Women in Greek Myth / Mary R. Lefkowitz. BL795 .W65 L44 (ISBN: 080188649X)
  • Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary by Robert E. Bell. Ref BL715 .B445 (ISBN: 0874365813)

CITING BOOKS IN NOODLETOOLS
 
To cite a print book, choose Print or In-hand and then choose Book from the drop-down list of source types.

Print books published after 1967 can be cited using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) . The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book, on the back side of the title page, or in the catalog record for the book. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

If you have any questions,  Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, and Mr. Previti are happy to help!