Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Taft School Logo Taft School Wordmark NEWSPAPERS USEFUL LINKS •Taft Google Drive
•RhinoNet (formerly TaftNet)
•Taft Calendar
•Connecticut Libraries
HOW DO I? •Request an Item the Library Doesn't Own
•Print to a Network Printer
•Access Digital Newspapers (NY Times, Wall St. Journal, Waterbury Republican American)
•Access the Papyrus
•Download Audiobooks/eBooks
•Find and Evaluate Websites
•Find Primary Sources
•Use Noodletools
COURSE GUIDES DATABASES

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library


Foundations: UN Summit : NoodleTools Tips

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti
OR email us at 
spadgett@taftschool.org  
  taylorp@taftschool.org
rpreviti@taftschool.org
We're here to help!

NoodleTools General Tips

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. 
NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.
 
1. Where did you find your source?
  • Most likely it will be one of these:
    • Database 
    • Website
2. What is your source?
  • Most likely, it will be one of these:
    • Reference Source
    • Magazine
    • Newspaper
    • Web Page

Citing Reference Sources

To cite an encyclopedia / reference source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:
  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Country Reports.
    • Click on the citation tool on your article page to determine if you can export the Chicago-style citation directly to NoodleTools.
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link",Cite or Citable Link.
  • Website = an encyclopedia found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a book found on the shelves of the library's Reference Collection, such as a World Today series volume.

Next you will choose the type of source you are citing. In this case, Reference Source.

You will complete both parts of the Reference Source form:

  • information about the article you used: author, title of article, and page numbers if available.
  • information about the encyclopedia as a whole: author / editor, encyclopedia title, name of publisher, place of publication, and date of publication.
  • Information about a web encyclopedia: author of article (if given), title of article, the URL of the article you are citing, and the most recent date (date updated or date of online publication).

Note: Reference sources can also be cited in NoodleTools using the ISBN (International Standard Book Number) if provided. The ISBN can be found on the back cover of a book or on the back side of the title page. It can also be found in databases containing sources originally produced in print. If you don't find it, we can help you. Books published before about 1967 won't have an ISBN.

International Standard Book Number - Wikipedia

Citing Magazine and Newspaper Articles

To cite a magazine or newspaper article, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes WHERE you found it: 
  • Database = a Taft Subscription Database such as Country Reports
    • You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, or Citable Link.
  • Website = an article found through a search engine such as Google.
  • Print or In Hand = a magazine found in the library's Reading Room.

Next you will choose what type of source you are citing. In this case, Magazine or Newspaper.

Most likely you found your article in one of the online databases. For your citation you will enter: 

  • information about the article itself: author, full title, and page numbers of the article.
  • information about the journal: Name of journal, volume and issue number (if given), date of issue.

Citing Websites

To cite a source you found on the internet, choose Website.
  • Remember: a website is an online source you discover through Google (or another search engine) as opposed to a subscription database you access through the library.
  • Websites can contain many kinds of sources including:
    • reference articles, ebook content, newspaper and magazine articles, primary sourcesspeech transcripts, images, etc.
  • If you can determine it, select the source type from the list under Website in NoodleTools.
  • If it's not clear what type of source it is, choose Web page.
 
If you would like help evaluating what source type it is, see (or email) Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti.
We're happy to help!