LibGuides: Foundations: UN Summit : Resources

Print Reference Sources with Country Profiles

World Today series, 2020-2022

Africa. Ref DT1 .D6
East and Southeast Asia. Ref DS502 .H53
Latin America. Ref F1401 .L3252
The Middle East and South Asia. Ref DS41 .C55
Nordic, Central and Southeastern Europe. Ref DL1 .N67
Russia and Eurasia. Ref DJK1 .R87
Western Europe. Ref D967 .W47

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

We're here to help!

Using Lexile Level to Make Life Easier!

Find information about your country in these Online Subscription Databases

Using the database search tips on the Main Course Guide Page and below, including the AND / OR operators, you will be able to find relevant sources in these databases:

COUNTRY PROFILES

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Click here for COUNTRY PROFILES.
Get the latest news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world, including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural, and environmental information.
Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
News, global viewpoints, country information and more on the significant global topics in the news.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

NEWS DATABASES

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Ebsco's largest periodicals database provides access to thousands of magazines and journals in all disciplines. SEARCH TIP: Limit your search to Online Full Text. On your search results page, you can choose additional filters such as Date range, Source type, or Subject. To open a full-text article, click on Access options.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Access World News -- Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Limit search results to news sources from your country by going to "Refine by Source Location" below the search fields and selecting the continent and then your country.
U.S. Major Dailies (1980s to Present) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Country Profiles Websites

Amnesty International: Countries
Includes reports on human rights practices by country, including issues stemming from unresolved conflicts.
CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook has country profiles from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Global Insights By Country
From Global Edge, a project of Broad School of Business, Michigan State Unversity.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch defends the rights of people in 100 countries worldwide, spotlighting abuses and bringing perpetrators to justice.
Media Bias / Fact Check: Country Profiles
An independent website that rates the bias, factual accuracy, and credibility of media sources. Each country, profile includes the type of Government, who is in charge, and how much the Government controls the media. This is important as the political alignment of the Government may dictate the bias of media in that country. NOTE: This page is in progress so not all countries are yet included.
NationsOnline.org
Award-winning site for country information.
United Nations Country Data
Includes statistical tables, country (area) and regional profiles including, but not limited to: population, education, trade, science and technology, tourism, and many other categories.
World Health Organization
Use the drop-down under Countries to select your country.

General Websites

Wikipedia's general disclaimer: "Wikipedia cannot guarantee the validity of the information found here. The content of any given article may recently have been changed, vandalized or altered by someone whose opinion does not correspond with the state of knowledge in the relevant fields."

Google

Search Tip: Limit your search to more reliable domains by using the phrase AND site:edu OR site:gov OR site:int (edu for educational institutions in the U.S.; gov for U.S. government agencies; int for organizations established by international treaties between or among national governments)

SweetSearch: A Search Engine for Students
Sweetsearch returns only credible websites approved by research experts. You can limit to news results by clicking on News and history results by clicking on History. Note: Disregard advertisements that may appear at the top of your result list.
FocusEconomics
FocusEconomics is a leading provider of economic analysis and forecasts for 130 countries in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, as well as price forecasts for 34 key commodities.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
OECD is an international organization that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.
U.S. Department of State: Countries and Areas
The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.

United Nations Links

Model UN Research Resources
This is an excellent place to start finding information about your country and the UN.
UN States on the Record
This site has basic data about UN participation for each member country.
UN Roll of Honor (Dues statements)
Has your country paid its UN dues? This is the best place to find out.
United Nations: Global Issues Overview

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: UN Summit : Resources

Print Reference Sources with Country Profiles

World Today series, 2020-2022

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Using Lexile Level to Make Life Easier!

Find information about your country in these Online Subscription Databases

COUNTRY PROFILES

NEWS DATABASES

Country Profiles Websites

General Websites

United Nations Links

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

Foundations: UN Summit : Resources

Print Reference Sources with Country Profiles

World Today series, 2020-2022

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

taylorp@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Using Lexile Level to Make Life Easier!

Find information about your country in these Online Subscription Databases

COUNTRY PROFILES

NEWS DATABASES

Country Profiles Websites

General Websites

United Nations Links

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Ms. Taylor, or Mr. Previti