Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library
Serving as a representative of your assigned country to the United Nations, you will produce:
- Country Profile (see tab 2 above for the resource page)
- Position Paper based upon the Yale Model UN guidelines. See sample paper here.
- Country Profile: a Chicago style bibliography.
- Position Paper: a Chicago style bibliography and in-text citations for quotations or references to others' work.
For more details on the project, see your UN Summit Google Doc.
NoodleTools General Citation Tips
1. Where did you find your source?
- Most likely it will be one of these:
2. What is your source?
- Most likely, it will be one of these:
- Reference Source
- Web Page
Remember to email Mr Padgett or Ms. Taylor if you have any questions!
Using Lexile Level to Make Life Easier!
General Search Tips for Databases
- Limit results to Full Text:
- Make sure that all the results are items you can access by limiting results to Full Text results only. Databases often include a mix of full text items and abstracts/synopses of items. Selecting Full Text helps prevent frustration.
- Look for search terms in article titles.
- Database searches generally default to keyword. Using the drop-down list to the right of the search bar, look for title, document title, or comparable term such as newspaper Headline.
- Use Filters:
- Look for filters / limiters on your results page, such as Subject and Source types. This will help ensure you get only the results that you want and will make sure you don't have to wade through as many results.
- Look especially for:
- Source types: Magazines, Newspapers
- Lexile levels : Start with 1000-1100 and then adjust the Lexile level depending on your results.
- Use AND / OR operators:
- Use AND in your search when there are words that all need to be in your search results.
- Use OR when there are two words that can be used interchangeably, but at least one of them needs to be present in your results.
- coronavirus OR COVID-19
- coronavirus OR COVID-19 AND Spain (Articles about the virus in Spain only.)
Find Coronavirus / COVID-19 and Other Issues in Online Subscription Databases
Gale's largest periodicals database with thousands of full-text articles in all subject areas. TIPS: Limit your searches to terms found in Document Title. Limit to Full-Text and select Lexile ranges between 1000-1200. At top of your search results page, choose Magazines. See Filter Your Results on the right for additional limiting options.
Access World News
Full-text current and archived articles from major national and international newspapers. See Coronavirus announcement across the top of the main page with links to news, special reports, and hot topics. Also, click on More Search Options below basic search bar for the advanced search page where you can limit results by Lexile Levels.
More than 35,000 pages of cultural, historical, and statistical information, as well as current news on all the countries of the world.
Gale in Context: Global Issues
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, and statistics, Global Issues provides background and guidance on the significant global topics in the news. TIPS: At top of your search results page, choose Magazines. See Filter Your Results on the right for additional limiting options, such as Lexile Measure.
Gale in Context: Science
Topic overviews, experiments, biographies, and links to quality websites, as well as coverage of the latest scientific developments. TIPS: At top of your search results page, choose Magazines. See Filter Your Results on the right for additional limiting options, such as Lexile Measure.
Issues & Controversies
Designed to inspire thought-provoking debates, each in-depth article presents both sides of an issue clearly and without bias. Updated weekly with key facts, arguments, history, primary sources, news editorial content, media, and current context of today’s most important issues.
ResearchIT CT U.S. Major Dailies
Provides full-text access to five major U.S. newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1985-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), New York Times (1980-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present).