LibGuides: US History: Cold War and Civil Rights Movements: Primary Sources

Historical Newspaper Databases

Access World News -- Historical and Current
Search thousands of credible, global news sources from more than 200 countries and territories. Find articles organized by eras in U.S. History in the companion database America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-2000. TIP: Sort results by BEST MATCH.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools. For a list of suggested topics, click here.
America's Historical Newspapers 1690 – 2000
A timeline-based interface divided into key eras in U.S. and world history from 1690 to 2000. Each issue/event includes an overview, and links to related articles in newspapers of the time.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Contains full-text content and images from numerous urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S. Tips:Choose Advanced Search and limit the date range. For opinion pieces, limit Document Type to Editorials.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
New York Times: 1851-2020
Contains every issue of The New York Times published from its first issue on Sept.18,1851.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
The Times (London) Digital Archive 1785-2014
More than 200 years of news in full facsimile images from London's premier newspaper. TIPS: Choose Advanced Search and limit by Publication Date. Limit Document Type to Editorial.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Demographic Group Primary Source Databases

Historical News Databases by Demographic Group

Asian Life in America
"This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Asian American history and daily life – as well as the ways popular culture has portrayed and perceived people of Asian descent. " This database covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Black Life in America
"This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. " This database covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Hispanic Life in America
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life – as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. This database covers from the arrival of Christopher Columbus to the early 21st century.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Search the Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.
- Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

Genius Scan

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Genius Scan Enterprise - Apps on Google Play

Get it from the App Store

History Databases with Primary Sources

PRIMARY SOURCES IN HISTORY DATABASES

African-American History
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs in African-American history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
American History
Overview essays, biographies, primary sources, images, timelines, and more in American political, military, social, and cultural history.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
Comprehensive collection of reference sources, primary documents, periodicals, maps and multimedia.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Milestone Documents - Factcite
1,700 of the most-studied primary source documents from U.S. and world history, accompanied by in-depth commentary and analysis from experts.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.
Salem History
Includes the complete content of a number of print reference sets. Search individually or choose any number of these sets to search simultaneously. Sets include: Defining Documents, Great Events from History, Great Lives from History, Milestone Documents, and The Reference Shelf.
To cite a reference article, choose Database and Reference Source. On the template page, choose Original print information provided. For the URL, click Copy Permanent Link to article in left sidebar of your article.

Gallup Poll
Global Analytics and advisory form. They help compamnies and individuals "understand what the world's citizens need and want."

Primary Sources in Journals

Current History [1914-current]
Begun as a supplement to The New York Times in 1914 [to provide coverage of WWI], Current History is the oldest publication devoted exclusively to international affairs published in the United States...Contributors over the years include George Bernard Shaw, H.G. Wells, Leon Trotsky, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Winston Churchill, and more. SEARCH TIP: Use the search bar at the top of the homepage. On your results page, use limiters in the left sidebar to narrow your results, such as date range.To cite an article: choose Website and then Journal.

JSTOR
Access full-text content from scholarly journals in more than 50 disciplines, some dating back into the 19th century and many which are peer-reviewed. It also contains over 100,000 ebooks and a number of primary source collections including 19th Century British Pamphlets.
NOTE: Citations can be exported to NoodleTools.

Login to EZ Proxy

If you are working off-campus you will need to sign in to library databases via EZ Proxy.
This only needs to be done once per session, and will give you access to all the electronic resources and databases you would typically have while on-campus at Taft.
See the graphic below for a reminder of how to log-in:

Help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

To cite a Primary Source, first choose the NoodleTools option that best describes where you found it:

Database = an electronic source found in a Taft Subscription Database such as Gale eBooks.
- You can export citations from many of our databases. Look for next to the database name.
- If you find a document in a Taft Subscription Database that doesn't have the export feature, you will create an original citation.
- You must provide the permanent URL for your source. Look for any of the following on the page: permalink, persistent link, stable link, durable link, "Get link", Cite, Citable Link.
Website = a document found on the Websites page of the course guide or a search engine such as Google or Sweetsearch.
Print or In Hand = a document found in a book in the library. For example: in a reference book or a secondary source book.

Next, determine what kind of primary source you are citing:

Look at the list of options in NoodleTools. Is it a newspaper article, a speech, a letter, or another item listed? If so, choose that item type.
If you are not sure, Anthology / Collection enables you to cite a source found within another source. For a document found on a website, Web Page works well in many cases.

The Hulbert Taft, Jr. Library

US History: Cold War and Civil Rights Movements: Primary Sources

Primary Source

Primary Sources

Sources created by those who lived it

Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

Historical Newspaper Databases

Demographic Group Primary Source Databases

Historical News Databases by Demographic Group

Search the Library Catalog

RhinoCat is the Library's automated catalog of books, ebooks, and other library materials.

A keyword search using a broad term will yield the most hits.

When you identify a book that looks useful, click on the book title to open the book's full record.

Scroll down to Subject(s): and click on a subject heading to find other books with the same subject headings.

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Browse shelf to see books that sit to the left and right on the shelf.

Search Library Catalog

Visit Library Catalog Page

Genius Scan

Scan pages from books and other print sources

including title page and back side of title page

and email the PDF to your Taft email

with

GENIUS SCAN

Get it from the App Store

History Databases with Primary Sources

PRIMARY SOURCES IN HISTORY DATABASES

Primary Sources in Journals

Login to EZ Proxy

If you are working off-campus you will need to sign in to library databases via EZ Proxy.

This only needs to be done once per session, and will give you access to all the electronic resources and databases you would typically have while on-campus at Taft.

See the graphic below for a reminder of how to log-in:

Help!

If you have any questions, see Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti

OR email us at

spadgett@taftschool.org

blovallo@taftschool.org

rpreviti@taftschool.org

We're here to help!

Tips for Citing Primary Sources in NoodleTools

PLEASE NOTE: Do not copy and paste complete citations from electronic sources. NoodleTools cannot generate footnotes from copied and pasted citations.

If you have any questions, Mr. Previti, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Padgett are happy to help!

If you have any questions, see
Mr. Padgett, Mrs. Lovallo, or Mr. Previti